women judges collegium permanent judges

The Supreme Court Collegium comprising of Chief Justice of India, Dr. D.Y. Chandrachud, Justice Sanjay Kishan Kaul and Justice Sanjiv Khanna passed a Resolution dated 12-07-20231, whereby which they recommended the names of several Judges who are currently serving their High Courts as Additional Judges to be appointed as Permanent Judges.

The Resolution was passed vis-à-vis the High Courts of Bombay, Calcutta, Chhattisgarh, Gauhati and Kerala.

The name of the recommended names who are to be appointed as Permanent Judges in their respective High Courts are as follows-

Bombay High Court

(i) Justice Anil Laxman Pansare,

(ii) Justice Sandipkumar Chandrabhan More.

Calcutta High Court

(i) Justice Krishna Rao,

(ii) Justice Bibhas Ranjan De,

(iii) Justice Ajoy Kumar Mukherjee,

Chhattisgarh High Court

(i) Justice Deepak Kumar Tiwari

Gauhati High Court

(i) Justice Kakheto Sema,

(ii) Justice Devashis Baruah,

(iii) Justice Malasri Nandi,

(iv) Justice Marli Vankung

(v) Justice Arun Dev Choudhury

Kerala High Court

(i) Justice Basant Balaji

(ii) Justice Chandrasekharan Kartha Jayachandran,

(iii) Justice Sophy Thomas

(iv) Justice Puthen Veedu Gopala Pillai Ajithkumar,

Point to be Noted: 3 out of 15 Judges, whose names have been recommended for appointment as Permanent Judges, are Women: Justice Malasri Nandi and Justice Marli Vankung for Gauhati High Court and Justice Sophy Thomas for Kerala High Court.

1. Collegium Resolutions | SUPREME COURT OF INDIA (sci.gov.in)

Must Watch

maintenance to second wife

bail in false pretext of marriage

right to procreate of convict

Criminology, Penology and Victimology book release

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.