Justice Dipak Misra sworn in as Chief Justice of India

Justice Dipak Misra was sworn in  as the 45th Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of India at a ceremony held today in the Durbar Hall of Rashtrapati Bhavan. He made and subscribed to the oath of office before President Ram Nath Kovind. He has succeeded Chief Justice Jagdish Singh Khehar who demitted office earlier on Monday. Chief Justice Misra will preside over the Supreme Court for 13 months and 6 days.
Justice Dipak Misra was born on 3rd October, 1953. He was enrolled as an Advocate on 14th February, 1977 and practiced in Constitutional, Civil, Criminal, Revenue, Service and Sales Tax matters in the Orissa High Court and the Service Tribunal. He was appointed as an Additional Judge of the Orissa High Court on 17th January, 1996 and transferred to the Madhya Pradesh High Court on 03rd March, 1997. He became permanent Judge on 19th December, 1997. Justice Misra assumed charge of the office of Chief Justice, Patna High Court on 23rd December, 2009 and charge of the office of the Chief Justice of Delhi High Court on 24th May, 2010. Justice Misra was elevated as a Judge, Supreme Court of India with effect from 10.10.2011.


Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.