Legislation UpdatesNotifications

In exercise of the powers conferred by Section 16 of the Transgender Persons (Protection of Rights) Act, 2019 (40 of 2019), the Central Government has constituted a National Council for Transgender Persons vide notification dated 21-08-2020. The Union Minister of Social Justice & Empowerment will be Chairperson (ex-officio) and Union Minister of State for Social Justice & Empowerment will be Vice-Chairperson (ex-officio).

The National Council shall perform the following functions, namely:—

(a) to advise the Central Government on the formulation of policies, programmes, legislation and projects with respect to transgender persons;

(b) to monitor and evaluate the impact of policies and programmes designed for achieving equality and full participation of transgender persons;

(c) to review and coordinate the activities of all the departments of Government and other Governmental and non-Governmental Organisations which are dealing with matters relating to transgender persons;

(d) to redress the grievances of transgender persons; and

(e) to perform such other functions as may be prescribed by the Central Government.

The other members of the Council include representatives of various Ministries/Departments, five representatives of the transgender community, representatives of NHRC and NCW, representatives of State Governments and UTs and experts representing NGOs.

A Member of National Council, other than ex officio member, shall hold office for a term of three years from the date of his nomination.

Click here for detailed notification.

Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment

[Notification dt. 24-08-2020]

Appointments & TransfersNews

S.O. 1136(E)— In pursuance of Section 3 of the National Commission for Women Act, 1990 (20 of 1990), the Central Government hereby nominates the following as Members of the National Commission for Women:—

                        1. Smt. Shyamala. S. Kunder

                         2. Dr. Rajulben L. Desai

2. Smt. Shyamala. S. Kunder and Dr. Rajulben L. Desai shall hold office for a period of three years or till the age of 65 years or until further orders from the date of assumption of charge of the office, whichever is the earlier.

[Notification dt. 05-03-2019]

Ministry of Women and Child Development