Appointments & TransfersNews

President is pleased to appoint the following Judges as the Judges of the Supreme Court of India:

  • Justice Surya Kant, Chief Justice of the Himachal Pradesh High Court
  • Justice Bhushan Ramkrishna Gavai, Judge of the Bombay High Court
  • Justice Aniruddha Bose, Chief Justice of the Jharkhand High Court
  • Justice Ajjikuttira Somaiah Bopanna, Chief Justice of the Gauhati High Court

[Notification dt. 22-05-2019]

Ministry of Law and Justice

Appointments & TransfersNews

The Collegium considers that the following two persons are deserving and suitable in all respects for being appointed as Judges of the Supreme Court of India:

1. Mr. Justice Bhushan Ramkrishna Gavai,
Judge, Bombay High Court, and

2. Mr. Justice Surya Kant,
Chief Justice, Himachal Pradesh High Court
(PHC: Punjab & Haryana)

“While recommending the names of Mr Justice Bhushan Ramkrishna Gavai and Mr Justice Surya Kant, the Collegium has taken into consideration combined seniority on all-India basis of Chief Justices and senior puisne Judges of High Courts, apart from their competence, conduct and integrity. The Collegium has also kept in mind the desirability of giving due representation on the Bench of the Supreme Court, as far as possible, to all the High Courts as well as to all sections of the society including those belonging to SC/ST/OBC categories, women and minorities. We are also conscious of the fact that some High Courts have remained unrepresented in the Supreme Court.”

In view of the foregoing, the Collegium comprising of Ranjan Gogoi, CJ and S.A. Bobde, N.V. Ramana, Arun Mishra and R.F. Nariman, JJ. resolves to recommend that appointments be made in the following order:
1. Justice Bhushan Ramkrishna Gavai, and
2. Justice Surya Kant

[Resolution dt. 08-05-2019]

Supreme Court of India