In exercise of the powers conferred by Section 4 of the Inter-State River Water Disputes Act, 1956 (33 of 1956), (and by an order of the President), the Central Government has constituted the Water Disputes Tribunal called ‘The Mahanadi Water Disputes Tribunal’, headquartered at New Delhi for the adjudication of the water dispute regarding the inter-State River Mahanadi, and the river valley thereof (“the said dispute”) consisting of three members nominated by the Chief Justice of India, namely,

· Mr. Justice A.M. Khanwilkar (Judge of the Supreme Court of India) — Chairman

· Dr. Justice Ravi Ranjan (Judge of Patna HC) — Member

· Mrs. Justice Indermeet Kaur Kochhar (Judge of Delhi HC) — Member

In a previous order of the Supreme Court dated 23-01-2018, upon a suit (Original Suit No.1 of 2017) filed by the Government of Odisha, regarding the said dispute, the Court had directed the Central Government to constitute a Water Disputes Tribunal. Also the Government of Odisha had made a further request, under Section 3 of the Inter-State River Water Disputes Act, 1956 (33 of 1956) to refer the said dispute to a Tribunal for adjudication.

[F. No. 4/1/2016-BM, dated 12-03-2018]

Ministry of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation

Must Watch

maintenance to second wife

bail in false pretext of marriage

right to procreate of convict

Criminology, Penology and Victimology book release

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.