appointment of Permanent Judges

On 03-04-2024, the Supreme Court Collegium comprising of Dr Justice DY Chandrachud, the Chief Justice of India, Justice Sanjiv Khanna and Justice BR Gavai, resolved to recommend the appointment of 5 Permanent Judges and 1 Additional Judge for fresh term of 1 year.

The instant Resolution was signed by two members of the Collegium as Justice B R Gavai was travelling out of Delhi. However, Justice Gavai verbally conveyed his agreement with the afore-stated proposal.

The Collegium directed the proposal to be processed without waiting for the written consent Justice since the term of one of the Additional Judges is going to expire on 16-04-2024. The Collegium clarified that Justice Gavai’s written consent would be placed on the record in due course.

Additional Judges recommended to be appointed as Permanent Judges

  1. Justice Cheppudira Monnappa Poonacha,

  2. Justice Anil Bheemsen Katti,

  3. Justice Chandrashekhar Mrutyunjaya Joshi,

  4. Justice Umesh Manjunathbhat Adiga,

  5. Justice Talkad Girigowda Shivashankare Gowda,

Appointment of Additional Judge for fresh term of 1 year

The Collegium recommended the name of Justice Gurusiddaiah Basavaraja to be appointed as an Additional Judge of the High Court of Karnataka for a fresh term of one year with effect from 16-08-2024.

Must Watch

maintenance to second wife

bail in false pretext of marriage

right to procreate of convict

Criminology, Penology and Victimology book release

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.