six Congress rebel MLAs

Supreme Court: In an application by the six Members of the Legislative Assembly of the Congress party against their disqualification from the Himachal Pradesh State Assembly, the Division Bench of Sanjiv Khanna and Dipankar Datta, JJ. issued notice without ordering any stay on their disqualification to allow them to take part in assembly proceedings.

Six MLAs from the Congress party were disqualified by the Speaker of the Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly after their cross-vote in the Rajya Sabha polls in Himachal Pradesh. These six MLAs moved before the Supreme Court challenging their disqualification and sought stay on the same.

Regarding the question that whether the fresh by-polls should be suspended, the Court agreed to examine the question and issued notice on the same.The matter was further listed for hearing on 06-05-2024.

[Chaitanya Sharma v. Speaker Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly, Writ Petition (Civil) No. 156/2024, Order Dated: 18-03-2024]

With inputs from Press

Must Watch

maintenance to second wife

bail in false pretext of marriage

right to procreate of convict

Criminology, Penology and Victimology book release

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.