SC collegium recommendations appointment permanent judges

On 13-02-2024, the Supreme Court Collegium comprising of Dr Justice D.Y. Chandrachud, the Chief Justice of India, Justice Sanjiv Khanna and Justice B.R. Gavai resolved to recommend the appointment of Permanent Judges for High Courts of Andhra Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Punjab and Haryana.

The recommended names are as follows-

Andhra Pradesh High Court

The Collegium recommended that Justice Boppana Varaha Lakshmi Narasimha Chakravarthi and Justice Tallapragada Mallikarjuna Rao, Additional Judges, to be appointed as Permanent Judges of the High Court of Andhra Pradesh against two of the existing vacancies.

Madhya Pradesh High Court

The Collegium recommended that Justice Duppala Venkata Ramana, Additional Judge (Parent High Court: Andhra Pradesh), be appointed as a Permanent Judge of Madhya Pradesh High Court against one of the existing vacancies available in the Andhra Pradesh High Court.

Punjab and Haryana High Court

The Collegium recommended that the following Additional Judges be appointed as Permanent Judges for Punjab & Haryana High Court,

  1. Justice Kuldeep Tiwari,

  2. Justice Gurbir Singh,

  3. Justice Deepak Gupta,

  4. Justice Amarjot Bhatti,

  5. Justice Ritu Tagore,

  6. Justice Manisha Batra,

  7. Justice Harpreet Kaur Jeewan,

  8. Justice Sukhvinder Kaur,

  9. Justice Sanjiv Berry, and

  10. Justice Vikram Aggarwal.

Must Watch

maintenance to second wife

bail in false pretext of marriage

right to procreate of convict

Criminology, Penology and Victimology book release

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.