HNLU, Raipur is proud to announce its 12th edition of CCI-HNLU 12th Justice Hidayatullah National Moot Court Competition 2022 in association with AZB & Partners, and EBC-SCC Online as their knowledge partner. The moot is scheduled from 18th-20th February 2022.

  1. About the Organisers:

1.About Hidayatullah National Law University-

Established in 2003, Hidayatullah National Law University has completed the journey of more than one and half a decade. In such a short span of time, HNLU has carved out a niche in the realm of legal education across India and the legacy is soaring towards newer heights day by day.

Named after the great legal luminary Justice Mohammed Hidayatullah, the University was established by the Government of Chhattisgarh under the Hidayatullah National University of Law, Chhattisgarh Act (Act No.10 of 2003). Hon’ble Justice Mr. Arup Kumar Goswami, Chief Justice, High Court of Chhattisgarh is the Chancellor of the University. Prof. (Dr.) V. C. Vivekanandan, former MHRD Chair Professor of IP Law at NALSAR University and also former Dean of the Rajiv Gandhi School of Law, IIT Kharagpur and School of Law, Bennett University is the Vice-Chancellor of the University. Prof. (Dr.) Uday Shankar is the Registrar of the University.


2. About CCI

The Competition Commission of India has been established under the Competition Act, 2002 (the Act) to prevent practices having an adverse effect on competition, to promote and sustain competition in Indian markets, to protect the interests of consumers and to ensure freedom of trade carried on by other participants in markets, in India, and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto.

It is mandated, inter alia, to take suitable measures for the promotion of competition advocacy, creating awareness and imparting training about competition issues. It, therefore, pursues its objectives through two sets of instruments, namely, advocacy and enforcement targeted at enterprises. These measures are complementary and are expected to promote and ensure thereby freedom of trade by enterprises and consumer welfare to achieve ‘fair competition for the greater good.


  1. About the Moot

Hidayatullah National Law University is proposing to host the next edition of the 12th Justice Hidayatullah Memorial National Moot Court Competition 2022, HNMCC’22 as a physical event. The Justice Hidayatullah Memorial National Moot Court Competition was started as a part of the centenary celebrations of the eminent jurist, author, and linguist, Justice Mohammad Hidayatullah & over the course of a decade, HNMCC has established a reputation among the legal fraternity, of being one of India’s premier moot court competitions. The moot is going to be organized by the students and faculty of Hidayatullah National Law University under the able guidance and mentorship of the Hon’ble Vice-Chancellor Prof. (Dr.) V.C. Vivekanandan.


  1. Eligibility, Team Size and Other Information
  • All students enrolled in a 3-year LLB programme or a 5-year integrated LLB programme shall be eligible to participate in the CCI-HNMCC 2022. However, only one team per university/institution shall be eligible to participate.
  • The team composition shall be as follows: 2 Speakers & 1 Researcher. The teams may choose to participate without a Researcher.
  • The Speakers shall not be eligible to participate in the researcher’s test. However, in the case of a 2-member team, one of the speakers shall be eligible to appear for the Researcher Test and that shall be notified to the Organizers at the time of Formal Registration.
  • Teams should not disclose the identity of their institution; such disclosure shall invite penalties including disqualification. The decision for the same shall be at the discretion of the National Administrator.

E mail ID:

  1. Registration Details

Registration for the 12th CCI-HNMCC 2022 will open on December 12th, 2021. The last date for registration shall be 11:59 PM, January 15th, 2022

The registration fee for the Competition is ₹5,000 and has to be paid either through RTGS/NEFT/IMPS or through a Demand Draft. The payment details can be found in the registration form.

The following documents shall be submitted by the teams at the time of registration:

  • A letter of approval from the university permitting the team to take part in the competition.
  • Scanned copy of Demand Draft of the registration fee or the Receipt of online payment.

The registration form can be accessed here.


  1. Awards and Trophies

Awards will be distributed in the following categories:


The team which wins the final round will be adjudged as the ‘Winner of the CCI-HNMCC 2022’ and will get an amount of ₹ 1,00,000 along with a trophy. The team members of the winning team will also be given an opportunity to intern with AZB & Partners. The team which secures second place will get the title of ‘Runners-up’ and ₹ 50,000 as a cash prize. The finalists will also be awarded various goodies from SCC Online.

Best Memorial:

The team with the highest memorial score (aggregate) will get the ‘Best Memorial’ prize along with a cash prize of ₹ 20,000.

Best Speaker:

The speaker who secures the highest score (average) at the conclusion of the Preliminary Rounds will get an award for the ‘Best Speaker’ with a cash prize of ₹ 20,000. It is necessary to argue for both parties in order to be eligible for the ‘Best Speaker Award’.

Best Researcher:

The researcher with the highest score in the Researcher Test will get the ‘Best Researcher’ prize along with a cash prize of ₹ 10,000.

  1. Important Dates
Opening of Registrations 12/12/21
Last date of Clarifications 05/01/22
End of Registration 15/01/22
Soft copy Memorial Submission 10/02/22
Hard copy Memorial Submission 18/02/22
Researchers Test 18/02/22
Preliminary & Quarter-Final Rounds 19/02/22
Semi- Final & Final Rounds 20/02/222
Valedictory Ceremony & Lextronica 20/02/22


For more details, refer HNMCC 2022-Brochure

  1. Contact Information
  2. Dr. Anindhya Tiwari Organizing Secretary, HNMCC 2022

Phone: +91-96801-30090

  1. Dr. Vishnu Konoorayar Professor of Law, HNLU Raipur.

Phone: +91-83759-24141

  1. Sanket Jamuar Student Convenor, HNMCC 2022

Phone: +91-78709-12857

  1. Deeksha Singh Student Co-Convenor

Phone: +91-97544-56437

  1. Avnish Prakash Student Co-Convenor

Phone: +91-91623-85666

E mail ID:

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.