The University of Petroleum & Energy Studies, Dehradun welcomes you all with spirit & enthusiasm for mooting to the Virtually held 11th Dr. Paras Diwan Memorial International ‘Energy Law’ Moot Court Competition, 2021 from 23rd – 25th April, 2021.

“Without the spur of competition, we’d loaf out our life.” — Arnold Glasow

We at UPES, envision promoting the advancement of law, justice, and governance learning, teaching, research and instil in students a wonderful combination of theoretical understanding, practical learning, and ability enhancement.The organising committee has left no stone unturned in their stalwart attempts at making this competition, a rewarding and fulfilling experience!

The Competition is being organized under the patronage of the UPES Mooting Committee, in association with JSA Advocates & Solicitors and our knowledge partners, SCC Online and Eastern Book Company. There are 16 participating teams from some of the most prominent law schools across the country to be judged by legal professionals and experts in the field of Energy Law.

We wish the participants luck and hope that you all ace it!

A brief itinerary of the event is produced below:

DAY:1 –
11:30 AM: Inaugural ceremony and orientation session:
The 11th Dr. Paras Diwan Memorial International ‘Energy Law’ Moot Court Competition, 2021 has been inaugurated virtually in the presence of the Dean of Law, Dr. V.K Singh, and the student Convenor of the Moot Court Committee, Mr. Mr Ayaush Yadav. with this, we start with the Competition.
Group photo session was held.
12:30 PM: Orientation session with SCC Online was conducted with the Professionals representing SCC.
3:00 PM- 4:00 PM: Memorial Exchange session was conducted.

10:00 AM: A welcome note for the judges was conveyed by Mr Ayush Yadav (Convenor, MCA).
A thank you was presented to drafter of Moot problem Mr Saunak Rajguru associate of J.Sagar & Associates.
10:17 AM: Briefing of facts session to the judges was started & Judges were actively involved in the briefing session any clarifications that were raised were duly resolved by the drafter of the moot problem.
10:55 AM: Session for Judge Briefing was ended & all the judges left for their rooms to start the round of 11th UPES Dr. Paras Diwan Memorial International ‘Energy Law’ Moot Court Competition, 2021.
11:00 AM: With an unfettering zeal, the Preliminary Round:1 has taken off in full swing in all courtrooms and The teams are making their arguments, which they have worked tirelessly on, in good & high spirits & within a few minutes of the starting of rounds, question from judges started pouring in, to which the teams were very well prepared to face off. After the intense session of mooting , the teams put forth with rebuttals and sur rebuttals.
12:15 PM: The Judges give their valuable feedback to the teams & appreciate their hard work.
we have just come to the end of our preliminary rounds.

12:30 PM: without any further delay, the Preliminary round 2 was started in full swing once again. The teams with their high spirits are presenting their arguments which they have relentlessly worked on for a long period of time, in front of our esteemed judges.
1:40 PM: After a gruelling round of tough questions by the erudite panels,intense rebuttals were put forward from each side.
1:45 PM: Another intense & ruthless round came to an end where we saw some remarkable arguments from the parties.
3:00 PM: Results for the Quarter Final were declared & memorials were exchanged . The teams that have advanced to the Quarterfinals of the 11th Dr. Paras Diwan Memorial International ‘Energy Law’ Moot Court Competition, 2021 with their naval cases after a strenuous two rounds of difficult questions and optimistic refutations are-

The Quarter Finals will begin shortly.
4:10 PM: With slight Delay, the Quarter Final kicked off with very zeal & the learned panel once again started with their gruelling session & was very eclectic about the arguments that were being made. In toto, it was found very hard for the counsel to face off the tricky question putten up by the panel. But the teams were able to stand once again on their feet in the battle of rebuttals.
6:30 PM: With the result declaration for the Semi Finals, we see numerous emotions, some were happy with their result & some were sad with their loss. But in the end the Day- 2 ended on a happy note charged with positive energy.

DAY 3:
10: 00 AM: A case briefing session was conducted for the judges who were going to judge the semi final.

11: 00 AM: As Judges take their seats in the “virtual courtrooms” to determine the nemesis of 4 Semi finalists, the Court rooms were buzzing with very much hope & excitement & with this battle the final was started. Teams show their remarkable display of skills of oral argumentation and in-depth legal research. All the teams try to cover in all the possibilities and contingencies regarding the case in their time limit. Judges were pleased with the arguments presented by the team. With this the hard fought battle of the semi finals came to an end.

1:00 PM: The much awaited results of the semi-finals were declared. We would like to congratulate the teams qualified for the Finals & We would like to express a gratitude to all the other participants for their hard work & appreciate them for taking part in this competition.
Team who qualified for Finals are:
TC:10 (Petitioner) & TC: 3( Respondent).

1:30 PM: A thank you note was presented to the Judges Panel for the Final Round. The round was judged by Poonam Verma (Partner, JSA), Rahul Kinra (Partner, JSA), Dinesh Pardasani (Partner, DSK Legal), Radhika Bishwajit Dubey (Partner & Director, Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas). A briefing session was conducted for the esteemed panel.

2:30 PM: With esteem, pride, and immense honour, the final round for 11th Dr. Paras Diwan Memorial International ‘Energy Law’ Moot Court Competition, 2021 has officially begun.
The counsel began their submissions with a brief of facts to acquaint the bench with the particulars of the context within which the case is to be argued. The speaker then went on to systematically list out the issues to be argued by the counsel and the co-counsel.The Counsel form both sides addressed the learned bench’s questions adeptly, and the court codes of conduct were on full display throughout the argumentation.

4:30 PM: Both sides have concluded with their arguments, now the panel has to make a decision.

5:00 PM: The pendulum of nervousness hangs over the final teams, as results are soon gone to be declared. The UPES Moot Committee is proud to announce the winner of 11th Dr. Paras Diwan Memorial International ‘Energy Law’ Moot Court Competition, 2021
Award List
Winner – TC 3 – National Law University, Jodhpur
Speaker 1 – Pooja Rajawat
Speaker 2 – Lipika
Researcher – Raunaq Singh

Runners up – TC 10 – Amity Law School, Delhi
Speaker 1 – Tanmay Arora
Speaker 2 – Vidit Parmar
Researcher – Abhishek Taneja

Best Speaker – TC 3 – Pooja Rajawat
Best Memorial – TC 15 – Symbiosis Law School, Pune

Reported by:
Shreyasi Dutta, Aritraa Dhar, Tanishq Khandelwal, Simran Bhaskar,Vaibhav Awasthi, Chandana Pradeep, Punya Bhatia, Juhi Mathur, Shruti Poddar, Seerat Khera, Vanshika Saraf, Shubhransi Kumar, Aditi Sharma,
Media Committee
School of Law, UPES.

Must Watch

maintenance to second wife

bail in false pretext of marriage

right to procreate of convict

Criminology, Penology and Victimology book release

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.