Supreme Court: A three-judge bench of Supreme Court will on Thursday hear the appeal of Rajasthan Assembly speaker CP Joshi against the stay order of Rajasthan High Court that asked the Speaker to not take action against Sachin Pilot and 18 other MLAs till July 24.

Joshi has said that he has filed Special Leave Petition (SLP) in Supreme Court to avoid contradiction between decisions of Speaker and court. He approached the Supreme Court against the interim order passed by the Rajasthan High Court on the petition filed by Sachin Pilot and 18 MLAs from his camp against the disqualification notices issued against them. Joshi, in his SLP, said that the impugned interim order has interdicted and restrained the Speaker from calling of replies and conducting hearing of the disqualification proceedings pending against the respondents till July 24.

Pilot has also filed a caveat in the Supreme Court to ensure that no orders are passed on Joshi’s petition against High Court interim orders without hearing him and his supporting MLAs. A caveat is a notice seeking that certain actions may not be taken without informing the person who gave the notice.

Rajasthan Assembly Speaker CP Joshi had sent notices to Pilot and 18 MLAs under the anti-defection law after chief’s whip application for their disqualification.

(Source: ANI)

Also read: 

Rajasthan Political Crisis | HC reserves order on petition by Sachin Pilot along with 18 other Congress MLAs, challenging disqualification notice issued by Assembly Speaker; To be pronounced on 24th July, 2020

SCC Online is now on Telegram and Instagram. Join our channel @scconline on Telegram and @scconline_ on Instagram and stay updated with the latest legal news from within and outside India

Must Watch

maintenance to second wife

bail in false pretext of marriage

right to procreate of convict

Criminology, Penology and Victimology book release

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.