COVID-19 Pandemic National Online Moot Court Competition, 2020 organised by Lloyd Law College

Inaugural Ceremony:

COVID-19 Pandemic National Online Moot Court Competition 2020 is organized by Lloyd Law College, Greater Noida is supported by Scconline. This is a unique competition first of its kind anywhere in the world during this total global lockdown. Everything that is involved in any mooting competition is done Fully online, paperless and absolutely no movement of any person from their places. That is from registration to memorial submission to Inaugural Ceremony to participants and judge’s briefings to pleading rounds to final rounds judging to valedictory session distribution of winners / runners prizes and certificates.

The competition was inaugurated by the Hon’bleMr. Justice MukeshkumarRasikbhai Shah, Judge, Supreme Court of India as Chief Guest delivered Inaugural Speech from his residence following completely all the rules and regulations on social distancing through a Video Class platform app on Thursday 30 April 2020 at 10 AM. His Lordship’s virtual presence and delivering the Inaugural Speech is a breakthrough in the history of legal education and practice and marked his commitment to go beyond traditional approaches to strengthen and inspire younger generation of lawyers and students.

Lordship in the Inaugural Address, Hon’ble Mr. Justice M. R. Shah, Judge, Supreme Court of India, highlighting the legal complexities pertaining to unprecedented Covid-19 global pandemic compared the situation with war and stated that just like war, such times requires complete faith on the captain of the ship i.e. the Government and strict adherence to their instructions. Lordship quoted sentiments of Hon’ble Mr. Justice S. A. Bobde, Chief Justice of India, who recently commented that executives with its 3M – Money, Men and Material are better suited to handle Covid-19 crisis. Lordship directed us all towards two acronyms to explain a mantra for staying safe in quarantine. He commented – Don’t touch MEN i.e. (Mouth, Ears and Nose) and follow WOMEN i.e. (Wash hands, Obey directions, Move away from crowd, Exercise and Never ignore symptoms). Lordship also appreciated the endeavour of Lloyd Law College for coming up with such innovative tools of carrying and furthering the legal education.

Mr. Manohar Thairani, President Trust, Lloyd Law College delivered the Welcome Address. He thanked Chief Guest – Inaugural Ceremony, Hon’ble Mr. Justice M. R. Shah, Judge Supreme Court of India and also thanked the dignitaries for their presence in this unique Online Inaugural Ceremony in the first of its kind competition. He emphasized that when the world is fighting against the pandemic together, Lloyd wishes to carry forward the hope for tomorrow through this competition.

The welcome address was followed by the introduction of the Chief Guest by Mr. Sanjay Vashishtha, Advocate, Supreme Court of India, LL.M (McGill, CA), M.Sc. Criminology (Oxford, U.K.), Bar Council of India Scholarship Awardee, Professional Criminologist, Guest Faculty, Specialized Training Unit / Police Training, Delhi Police, Research Associate | Centre of Criminology, University of Oxford, United Kingdom, Professional Member & Research Leadership, Indian Police Institute, Special Counsel, National Law University, Delhi.

Mr. Srimanto Sen, Secretary, Bar Council of India graced the occasion as the Guest of Honour. The other eminent luminaries included Dr. Anjali Mittal, Dean, Department of Law, Chaudhary Charan Singh University along with other dignitaries, and academicians from law. The event was concluded by a vote of thanks delivered by Dr. Md. Salim, Director, Lloyd Law College.

Oral Rounds:

We are happy to inform you that more than 108 teams from 57 different law colleges across India had registered for the competition and as per the rules of

competition 24 best teams amongst the others qualified memo qualifier rounds and participated in oral rounds. Some of the esteemed colleges that participated were NALSAR-Hyderabad, NUJS-Kolkata, GNLU-Ahmedabad, HNLU-Raipur, RMNLU-Lucknow, CLC & LC-I Delhi University, DSNLU-Vishakhapatnam, NLUJA-Assam, NLU-Odisha, NUSRL-Ranchi, NUALS Kochi, Amity Law School, Delhi, AIL-Mohali, IIL-Indore, KIITU-Bhubaneshwar, New Law College-BVP-Pune, NMIMS-Navi Mumbai, O.P. Jindal Global University, Sonipat, SOEL-Chennai, CHRIST University-Bengaluru, SLS-NOIDA, SLS-Pune, UPES-Dehradun and 6 GLC’s.

The notification and the moot problem of the competition were released on 11th April 2020. The last date to register for the competition was 20th April 2020. The competition had a memorial qualifier round in regards to it the last date for memorial submission was 27th April 2020 09:00 A.M. and the results were announced on 30 April 2020. The Inaugural Speech was delivered by Hon’ble Mr. Justice M. R. Shah, Judge, Supreme Court of Indiaon Thursday 30th April 2020 at 10:00 AM from his house observing social distancing.The preliminary rounds began on 1st May 2020. Two preliminary rounds were conducted on 1st May 2020 and 2nd May 2020 respectively. This was followed by quarter final that took place on 2nd May itself. Further the semi-final and final rounds took place on 3rd May 2020. The final round between Amity Law School, Delhi and School of Excellence in Law, Chennai was judged by a stellar bench comprising Hon’ble Retd. Justice Sudhir Narain Agarwal, Allahabad High Court, Ms. Garima Prasad, Advocate-on-Record, Supreme Court of India, Mr. R. Venkataramani, Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India, Mr. Ashwini Dubey, Advocate-on-Record, Supreme Court of India.

Award Winners:

Later on the same date valedictory function was organized which was addressed by Hon’ble Retd. Justice Sudhir Narain Agarwal, Allahabad High Court.Mr. Shivek Sahai Student of Amity Law school Delhi stood out as the winner and was awarded with Rs. 11,000/- and the E-certificate. Thereafter, the following key awards were presented: Ms. Mansi Sethia Jain student of School of Excellence in Law, Chennai won the Runner Up Award with a prize money of Rs. 8,000/- and E-certificate, the Best Student Advocate Award with a cash prize of Rs. 5,000/- and E-certificate and the Best Memorial Award with a prize money of Rs. 5,000/- and e-certificate. Ms. Akankhsya Bhattacharjee student of Damodar Sanjivayya National Law University, Vishakhapatnam stood Second Runner Up, Mr. Ujjwal Sharma student of O.P. Jindal Global University, Sonipat was the third runner up whereas Mr. Darpreet Singh of Lloyd Law College and Mr. Aaryyan Aathreya from School of Law, SASTRA University, Chennai were awarded with Spirit of Lloyd.

Lloyd Law College is proud to have used this time of pandemic as an opportunity with utmost positivity and productivity by conducting more than 800 hrs. of online regular / guest lectures in the span of one month since and providing space for students to be mentality and emotionally energized by conducting competitions for one’s holistic development. We are extremely thankful to Scconline for their continuous support in all the academic endeavours of the Lloyd.

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.