S.O. 3722(E)—In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (7) of Section 6 of the Foreign Exchange Management Act, 1999 (42 of 1999), the Central Government hereby determines the following instruments as debt instruments, namely:—

(i) Government bonds;
(ii) corporate bonds;
(iii) all tranches of securitisation structure which are not equity tranche;
(iv) borrowings by Indian firms through loans;
(v) depository receipts whose underlying securities are debt securities.

2. Instruments specified below shall be considered as non-debt instruments, namely:-

(i) all investments in equity in incorporated entities (public, private, listed and unlisted);
(ii) capital participation in Limited Liability Partnerships (LLPs);
(iii) all instruments of investment as recognised in the FDI policy as notified from time to time;
(iv) investment in units of Alternative Investment Funds (AIFs) and Real Estate Investment Trust (REITs) and Infrastructure Investment Trusts (InVITs);
(v) investment in units of mutual funds and Exchange-Traded Fund (ETFs) which invest more than fifty per cent in equity;
(vi) the junior-most layer (i.e. equity tranche) of securitisation structure;
(vii) acquisition, sale or dealing directly in immovable property;
(viii) contribution to trusts;
(ix) depository receipts issued against equity instruments.

3. All other instruments which are not specified in paragraphs (1) and (2) above, shall be deemed as debt instruments.

Ministry of Finance

[Notification dt. 16-10-2019]

Must Watch

SCC Blog Guidelines

Justice BV Nagarathna

call recording evidence in court


Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.