Press Note | 5th Edition of GNLU Moot on Securities and Investment Law, 2019

The 5th edition of GNLU Moot Court on Securities and Investment Law was held from 12th-15th September 2019. GNLUMSIL is unique because the moot problem is based upon Securities and Investment Law and this year the it was related to Electricity Act and NTSD Contracts.

Since its inception in 2015, GNLUMSIL has garnered much praise for filling a void in the Indian mooting scene by providing an opportunity for research and student advocacy in the field of securities and investment law. In a short span, the moot came to establish itself as a quality platform for brilliant minds to parley and learn more about the subject, witnessing 26, 30, 44 and 36 teams vie for the top spot in the first, second, third and fourth editions respectively. This year, the moot was organized in collaboration with the Bombay Stock Exchange Investors’ Protection Fund, Finsec Law Advisors, Regstreet Law Advisors, Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co., Lex Witness, Manupatra & Law Skills, National Securities Depository Limited, Corporate Law Advisor Online and Lawctopus. 
In this edition, 46 teams from across the country participated in the moot. The preliminary rounds took place on 13th and 14th September 2018. 8 teams qualified for the quarter finals that took place on 15th September. After some grueling rounds 4 teams qualified for the semi-finals.
1. National Law University, Delhi
2. Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law, IIT Kharagpur 
3. Sastra University, School of Law
4. School of Excellence in Law, Tamil Nadu Dr. Ambedkar Law University.
Ultimately, Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law, IIT Kharagpur and School of Excellence in Law, Tamil Nadu Dr. Ambedkar Law University reached the finals of the competition. The judges for the finals were: Hon’ble Justice Tarun Agarwala (Presiding Officer, Securities Appellate Tribunal), Mr. Sandeep Parekh (Founder and Managing Parter, Finsec Law Advisors), Mr. Somasekhar Sundaresan (Advocate, Bombay High Court) andMr. Sanjay Asher (Senior Partner, Crawford Bayley & Co.) and Mr. Murali Neelakantan (Principal, Amicus). 
After a hard fought final round, Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law, IIT Kharagpur emerged as the winner of the competition.
Runners up- School of Excellence in Law, Tamil Nadu Dr. Ambedkar Law University.
Best Speaker, Finals-  Aniruddha Bhatnagar, Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law, IIT Kharagpur.
Best Speaker, Preliminary Rounds- Sahil Malhotra, National Law University, Delhi.
Best Memorial- Symbiosis Law School, Pune.
Best Researcher- Urmil Shah, Auro University, Surat.
The student convenors of the GNLUMSIL OC, Mr. Rohan Merchant and Ms. Yashi Saraswat addressed the gathering, expressing their thanks for all their coordinators, as well as the fellow OC members.
The vote of thanks was delivered by Ms. Garima Goswami, the Faculty Co-Convenor, who spoke about the entire process of organizing the moot, thanked the sponsors for their support, as well as members of the OC and participants.

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.