2nd TNNLU-CCI National Moot Court Competition held from 1st- 3rd March, 2019

The Tamil Nadu National Law University (TNNLU) hosted the 2nd TNNLU-CCI National Moot Court Competition from 1st to 3rd of March 2019. The event which saw participation from institutions all over India and the problem was based on Competition Law. The event was organised by the Moot Court Committee, TNNLU, and the Centre for Competition Law (CCL), TNNLU in collaboration with the Competition Commission of India.

The event was inaugurated by the Vice-Chancellor Prof. Dr. Kamala Sankaran on the 1st of March 2019 in the presence of Thiru. S. Kumaraguru, Principal District Judge, Tiruchirapalli, and Dr. A. Amalraj, IPS, Commissioner of Police, Tiruchirappalli. This was followed by the Draw of Lots and Exchange of Memorials by the participating teams. The preliminary rounds began on the 2nd of March 2019. Two rounds of prelims took place so each team had a chance to present their case as appellants and respondents. This was followed by the knockout rounds. The prelims and knockouts were judged by faculty members of TNNLU, practicing lawyers and experts in Competition Law preferred by the Competition Commission of India (CCI).

The rounds went on for two days and the team comprising of Mr. Abhirami K, Ms. Pavithra Sundararajan and Ms. Niyati H Desai from School of Excellence in Law (SOEL), Chennai were the winner of the competition and cash prize of ?30,000 was given to them. Further, Ms. Subhashree Jena, Ms. Kratika Vyas and Ms. Prapti Sachan, from Dr Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University (RMLNLU) were the runners up and won a cash prize of ?20,000. The other teams who qualified to semi-finalist were SASTRA Deemed University, Tanjore and Symbiosis Law School (SLS), Pune who won ?10,000 each. The quarterfinalists were Nirma University, Ahemdabad; Symbiosis Law School (SLS), Hyderabad; Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University (DSNLU), Vizagand Campus Law Centre (CLC), Delhi University.

The team consisting of Mr. Sahil Mathur, Ms. Priyanshi Shukla and Mr. Sagar from DSNLU won the Best Memorial Award and a cash prize of ?15,000. The Best Speaker was Ms. Abhrami K from SOEL and she was awarded a cash prize of ?15,000.

The Valedictory Ceremony was organised with august presence of Hon’ble Mr. Justice T.S. Sivagnanam (High Court of Judicature at Madras) as Chief Guest.The Guests of Honour were Mr. Vijay Narayan, Senior Advocate and Advocate General of Tamil Nadu, Mr. K.V. Viswanathan, Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India and Mr. Rakesh Bhanot Adviser, Competition Commission of India.

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.