A report on 8th Justice PN Bhagwati International Moot Court Competition on Human Rights

The 8th Justice PN Bhagwati International Moot Court Competition on Human Rights was successfully conducted in Bharati Vidyapeeth Deemed University New Law College, Pune in collaboration with Eastern Book Company on 24th and 25th March. It included participation of 20 national teams and 13 international teams.

On 24th march, 2018 the inaugural function graced with Chief Guest Hon’ble Mr. Justice Dipak Mishra (who addressed the gathering through video conferencing) and Hon’ble Mr. Justice Sanjay Kishan Kaul Judge, Supreme Court of India.  As revered guests we had Hon’ble Mr. Justice C.V. Bhadang (Judge, Bombay High Court) and Hon’ble Shri P.S. Narasimha (Additional Solicitor General of India, Sr. Advocate, Supreme Court of India).

There were a total number of 98 participants. All in all four rounds were conducted in the presence of 50 Judges. Out of 33 teams, four teams which made it to semi-final were University of Dhaka Bangladesh, JSS  Law School Mysore, National University of Advance Legal Studies, Kochi and Symbiosis Law School, Pune.

The team comprising Shama Mahesh Mahajan, Paavni Jian and Disha Verma from Symbiosis Law School, Pune  won the competition while the team comprising of Ali Mashras and Rifat Rabben Khan from University of Dhaka, Bangladesh emerged as the runner-up. Apart from it, National University of Advance Legal Studies stood as 2nd runner up. The best memorial award was begged by team from Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University followed by a team from Institute of Law, Nirma University which begged the 2nd best memorial award.

Seven High Court Judges namely, Hon’ble Mr. Justice A.S. Oka ( Judge, Bombay High Court), Mr. Justice J.R. Midha (Judge, Delhi High Court), Mr. Justice C.T. Ravi Kumar (Judge, Kerela High Court), Mr. Justice V.S. Siradhana ( Judge, Rajasthan High Court), Ms. Justice Deepa Sharma ( Judge, Delhi High Court) and Mr. Justice Ajay Mohan Goel (Judge, Himachal Pradesh High Court) judged the final rounds and then Valedictory function took place.

During valedictory function all the dignitaries including Justice A.S. Oka said some words of appreciation for teams as well as the institution for keeping and maintaining the high standard in quality and organising of such a big event.

One comment

  • Avatar

    The award for the best Advocate was bagged by Ms.Aishwarya Lakshmi from School of Excellence in Law, Chennai.

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.