Day 1: Underway- The Ninth NLU Antitrust Law Moot Court Competition

The Ninth NLU Antitrust Law Moot Court Competition has been inaugurated in the presence of Dean I.P. Massey.  The registrations and exchange of memorials between the teams was concluded while the Researchers were rallying forward with the Researcher’s Test!

The competition is now truly underway as post the Inaugural Ceremony and a great lunch the preliminary rounds are scheduled to start at 4:30 PM. This year’s Antitrust Moot is truly unique and stands out amongst all other Moots in the country with the introduction of the Octa-Final and the Reverse Octa-Final Rounds!

Inaugural ceremony

About the new Octa-Final Rounds

The top sixteen teams from the Preliminary Rounds will proceed to the Octa Final rounds and the Reverse Octa Final Rounds. These will be carried out on the basis of power matchups. We’ll leave it to our team head, Amrita, to explain how this makes the competition even better!

“Ever been to a moot where you lost in the prelims by a close margin to the winning team? Thought your prelims with the team should have gone on to be the finals? Felt that you lost because luck did not favour you? We understand that is quite disheartening after months of hard work.

Fear not. Luck is going to have a minimal role this year at Antitrust. We bring to you the octa-final and the reverse-octa final rounds where matches are made on merit and not luck. Bring only your hard-work and determination to win the trophy.

You don’t need those odds in your favour, you have got the rules in your favour!”

– Amrita Shivaprasad, Tabulation Team Head, Antitrust, 2018

18:45 PM: Preliminary rounds wrapped up.

The preliminary rounds have concluded. The reverse preliminary rounds will now begin shortly. The results of the preliminary and reverse-preliminary rounds are scheduled to be announced after dinner at 9:30 PM. The teams who are progressing to the Octa-Final rounds will then have an exchange of memorials with their matchups.


Day 2: Octa Final rounds and 3rd Antitrust Panel Discussion

9:30 AM: Octa Final Rounds

The participants progressing to the Octa Finals underwent their rounds at 9:30. In the 2nd set of rounds, i.e., the Reverse Octa Finals, the participants will face another set of power matches. The reverse Octa Finals shall begin shortly after the 3rd Antitrust Panel Discussion.


Participants in the Octa Finals Rounds
Judges grilling the participants

11:30 AM: Third NLU Jodhpur Panel Discussion on Antitrust Law

With the first set of Octa Final rounds over, preparations are in full swing for the reverse Octa Final Rounds. Meanwhile, participants attended the 3rd Antitrust Panel Discussion, 2018.

Participants attending the 3rd Antitrust Panel Discussion
The Panel

The topic for this year’s Discussion,   was ” Competition and Innovation: Is it time for a new approach?“. The changing facets of antitrust regulation, in light of the digital economy, were discussed. The panel consisted of the following persons.

Anand Kumar Singh

Anand Kumar Singh completed his LLM in corporate laws from the National Law University Jodhpur. He is currently an Assistant Professor at NLUJ, where he has such as Corporate Governance, and Constitutional Governance.

Anandh Venkataramani

Anandh Venkataramani is a 2011 graduate of Symbiosis Law School, Pune. Upon graduating, he worked in the litigation team of Lakshmikumaran & Sridharan for two years. He then pursued his masters from New York University School of Law, focusing on antitrust and litigation. He passed the New York Bar and worked with judges at the New York Supreme Court and the California Court of Appeal. He subsequently joined the Competition Team at Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas, where he worked on contentious cases in the agriculture and biotech; real estate; social media; mobile app-based communication and transport, and automotive industries. He is currently practicing in the courts in Delhi.

Indrajeet Sircar

Indrajeet Sircar, an Antitrust and International Trade lawyer, graduated from West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata in 2013. Thereafter, he worked for two years as an Associate in the competition law practice at AZB & Partners where he regularly advice clients on a variety of contentious and non-contentious antitrust issues. He is currently a Consultant with the Disputes, Regulatory, Advocacy and Policy (DRAP) group at Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas.

Prateek Bhattacharya

Prateek Bhattacharya graduated from NLU Jodhpur in 2012 with a specialization in International Trade and Investment. He was thereafter awarded the Dr. Angela Merkel – Jawaharlal Nehru scholarship to pursue his LL.M. in Germany, and graduated from the Europa Institut, Saarland University . He then joined erstwhile Amarchand & Mangaldas & Suresh A Shroff & Co, and is currently a Senior Associate at Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas, New Delhi.

1:30 PM: The Reverse-Octa Final rounds are now slated to begin. The matchups with the university names shall be disclosed shortly thereafter.

6 PM: Results of Octa Final Rounds

The results of the Octa Final rounds are in! The teams progressing to the Quarter Final Rounds are as follows:

  1. DSNLU, Vishakhapatnam
  2. School of Law, Sastra University
  3. NLSIU, Bangalore
  4. RMLNLU, Lucknow
  5. Government Law College, Mumbai
  6. Campus Law Centre, Faculty of Law Delhi University
  7. HNLU, Raipur
  8. Symbiosis Law School, Pune

Best of luck to all the teams!

From the above 8 Teams, The following teams progressed to the Semi Final Rounds:

  1. School of Law, Sastra University
  2. NLSIU, Bangalore
  3. RMLNLU, Lucknow
  4. Government Law College, Mumbai

After a grueling Semi-Final Rounds, NLSIU and Sastra University were chosen to battle it out in the Final Rounds.


Day 3: Final Rounds and Valedictory Ceremony

Final Rounds

NLSIU Bangalore emerged victorious in the Final Round of the competition and took the crown of the winner of the 9th NLU Antitrust Law Moot Court Competition.

Final Rounds

Valedictory Ceremony

The award winners of the 9th NLU Antitrust Law Moot Court Competition were as follows:

Best researcher: Ms. Alfiya Vora, Symbiosis Law School, Pune

Best Memorial: Ram Manohar Lohia National Law University

Best Student Advocate: Mr. Vikas Muralidharan, School of Law, SASTRA University

Second Best Student Advocate: Mr. Surya Teja SS Nalla, School of Law, SASTRA University

Winners: National Law School of India University, Bengaluru

Runner-Up: School of Law, SASTRA University

Best Student Advocate of Finals: Mr. Apurv Jain, National Law School of India University, Bengaluru

Valedictory Ceremony

With that, the competition has come to a conclusion. We hope this was an enriching experience for all the participants! A heartfelt congratulations to all the award winners from all of us here at NLU Jodhpur.

Must Watch

maintenance to second wife

bail in false pretext of marriage

right to procreate of convict

Criminology, Penology and Victimology book release

One comment

  • Isn’t this supposed to be a live blog? No updates about the rounds, team pairings, etc.

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.