International Court of Justice: The International Court of Justice on 06.02.2018, as per Article 29 of the Court’s Statute, elected Justice Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf as the President and Justice Xue Hanqin as the Vice-President of the Chamber of Summary Procedure and Budgetary and Administrative Committee. Both of them will serve a term of three years.

Justice Yusuf will take over from French Judge Ronny Abraham to become the 25th President of ICJ as well as the third one from Africa. He has been a Judge at ICJ since 2009 and was elected as its Vice President in February, 2015.

Justice Hanqin, was an Ambassador to the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), Legal Counsel of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of China and a member of the International Law Commission (re-elected in 2006 by the General Assembly for the term 2007-2011), having previously served in academic and diplomatic posts, including at the United Nations.

As provided under Article 29 of the Court’s Statute, for a speedy dispatch of business, the Court shall annually form a chamber composed of five judges and two separate judges for the purpose of replacing one’s who find it impossible to sit. The committee of the Court includes the Budgetary and Administrative committee, Rules committee and the Library committee.

[Source: Press Release No. 2018/11, dated 06-02-2018]

Must Watch

maintenance to second wife

bail in false pretext of marriage

right to procreate of convict

Criminology, Penology and Victimology book release

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.