Sameer Rashid Bhat becomes first Rhodes Scholar from GNLU

GNLU is pleased to inform that Mr Sameer Rashid Bhat, 5th Year GNLU student, becomes the first Rhodes Scholar from the GNLU.  Sameer Bhat, after a highly-competitive application and preliminary selection process, was selected by the Committee consisting of Mr Gopalkrishna Gandhi, Chair and noted academics, practitioners and eminent persons from concerned walks of life. Congratulating Sameer on the achievement, Director Bimal Patel, faculty and staff alike, encouraged other students to put more efforts to secure such a coveted scholarship and add into the growing reputation of the University.

Delighted on completing the selection of another batch of Rhodes Scholars-elect from India, Mr. Nandan Kamath, the National Secretary, Rhodes Scholarships for India, said: “Our Rhodes Scholars-elect are selected after a rigorous process from an outstanding pool of finalists. We are delighted to be able to provide our five chosen Scholars with unique academic and personal growth opportunities at the University of Oxford and through our Scholarship programme. We look forward to participating in their journeys as they interact with, and seek to influence, the worlds around them.”

The Rhodes Trust provides the Rhodes Scholarships in partnership with the Second Century Founders, John McCall MacBain O.C. and The Atlantic Philanthropies, and many other generous benefactors. The Rhodes Scholarships are postgraduate awards supporting outstanding all-round students and enable two to three years (depending on the academic route taken) of study at the University of Oxford, which is the oldest and amongst the most prestigious universities in the world.

The Rhodes Scholarships aspire to create ‘leaders for the world’s future’ and are achievement-based awards open to students with proven intellectual and academic attainment of a high standard who show exceptional character, leadership, achievement in extra-curricular activities and a commitment to service in the public good.

Each year, five Indian Scholars are selected to join Rhodes Scholars from around the world at the University of Oxford. For 2018, Nikita Arora, Government College, Girls, Panjabi University, Patiala (Women’s Studies); Rahul Bajaj, RSTM Nagpur University (Law); Krishnendu Ray, Chennai Mathematical Institute (Theoretical Physics); Archit Jain, St. Stephen’s College, University of Delhi (Economics); and Sameer Bhat, Gujarat National Law University (Law) are selected.

The Rhodes Scholarships, which were instituted under the will of Cecil Rhodes in 1902, include all university and college fees, an annual stipend and travel expenses to the University of Oxford before the start of the programme and a return ticket following the course of study. Studying at the University of Oxford will give the chosen Scholars access to world class academics in their field as well as an international alumni network that includes heads of state, Pulitzer Prize winning authors, Nobel Prize winners and Olympians.

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.