NALSAR University of Law successfully organised the 10th Justice Bodh Raj Sawhny Memorial Moot Court Competition from  30th, September-2nd of October, 2016. The judges panel included eminent legal personalities and the finals was judged by Hon’ble Justice Shri K.C. Bhanu (Retd.) and Hon’ble Justice G. Chandraiah (Retd.). The judges were impressed with the level of knowledge and mooting skills displayed by the law students from across India. Hon’ble Vice Chancellor, Prof. (Dr.) Faizan Mustafa presided over the closing ceremony held on 2nd October, 2016 and hosted Mr. Sanjeev Chopra from the Bodh Raj Sawhny Trust and Hon’ble Justice Chandraiah. The winners of the competition were felicitated by the dignitaries with cash prizes and gifts in the form of books provided by Supreme Court Cases.

The results were
Winners- Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Patiala

Runners up- National Law Institute University, Bhopal

Best Memorial Award- Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar

Second Best Memorial Award- Indian Law Society’s Law College, Pune

Best Oralist- Vishal Agarwal from Amity Law School, Noida

Second Best Oralist- Rishabh Jain from National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata

The moot dealt with constitutional law, and the issue surrounding the ban on liquor consumption. The cap on the number of teams for this year’s edition was kept at 32. The engagement and excitement shown by the teams was unmatched. The level of research had gone higher than the previous years. We hope that the support shown to NALSAR continues to grow over the coming editions of Justice Bodh Raj Sawhny Memorial Moot Court Competition.

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.