Amity Law School, Lucknow organised the 9th edition of AMITY NATIONAL MOOT COURT COMPETITION from 26th to 28th February, 2016. The IXth National Moot Court Competition was inaugurated by the guests of Honour, Hon’ble Justice Dr. D.K.Arora and Hon’ble S.S. Upadhyay, legal advisor to the Hon’ble Governor of Uttar Pradesh.

Hon’ble S.S. Upadhyay, legal advisor to his excellency, the Governor of U.P. addressed the inaugural ceremony and shared his practical legal experience with the participants of the competition by saying that the use of legal knowledge and terminology enhances the legal base of a law student.

Our other guest of honor, Hon’ble Justice (Dr.) D.K. Arora, Allahabad High Court enlightened us with the origin of Moot Court Competition in India. According to him, confidence and proper application of law is a key to success in a Moot Court Competition.

The event was declared open by Prof. (Dr.) Sangita Laha, Deputy Director, Amity Law School, Lucknow and the inaugural ceremony was concluded by a vote of thanks by Prof. S.K. Gaur, Amity Law School, Lucknow.

22 teams from all over the country participated and to name a few are GNLU, RMNLU, RGNLU, ILS Law College, NMIMS School of Law, Amity Law School- Delhi, Campus Law Centre, Faculty of Law, University of Delhi, Galgotias University, Pravin Gandhi College of Law, IMS University, School of Law- SASTRA University etc.

The Moot preposition was based on the International Law and was tried under the International Court of Justice.

The Bench for the Finale Round were S.B. Pandey (ASG), Justice A.N Verma (Judge High Court), Justice Rajan Roy (Judge High Court), Prof. R.R. Loyall (Former Dean of Lucknow University), Dr. Adish C. Agarwal (AAG).

ILS Law College and Pravin Gandhi College of Law qualified to the final round.

With this the Valedictory Ceremony started. The bouquets were presented to Prof. R.R. Loyall, Justice A.N. Verma, Dr. Adish C Agarwal (AAG), Mr. S.B. Pandey(ASG) , Justice Rajan Roy by  Maj. Gen. K.K. Ohri AVSM,  Pro VC, Amity University, Lucknow, Prof. (Dr.) Sangita Laha, Deputy Director, Prof. S.K. Gaur, Prof. G.K. Chandani, Prof. B.M. Pandey respectively.

After the gathering was addressed by all the dignitaries the results were declared.

  • The winning team was ILS, PUNE
  • The runner up was Pravin Gandhi College of law
  • The winner of the Best Mooter was awarded to Priyanka Acharya from Gandhinagar National Law University, Gandhinagar
  • The award for the Best Researcher was given to Maria Fatima from Unity Degree College from Lucknow
  • The award for best memorial was given to ILS, PUNE.

 The prizes were given by all the guests of honor. With that the distribution of the certificates to the winners as well as to the participants took place. With this the distribution of Mementoes to the dignitaries took place.

A vote of thanks was extended by Prof. G.K. Chandani, Amity Law School, Lucknow and congratulated everyone for the event.

Must Watch

maintenance to second wife

bail in false pretext of marriage

right to procreate of convict

Criminology, Penology and Victimology book release

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.