NLSIU introduces new Scholarship Policy

NLSIU introduced one of the most progressive and comprehensive Scholarship Policy which will apply to all scholarships administered by the National Law School of India University, Bangalore including internal scholarships instituted by the University, as well as external scholarships instituted by third party donors.

A Committee comprising of Professor S. Japhet – Convenor, Professors – Govindraj Hegde, A. Nagarathna, Anuja S. – members, was constituted by the Professor (Dr.) R. Venkata Rao, Vice-Chancellor, NLSIU on 15th April, 2015 to prepare this Scholarship Policy for NLSIU.


The said policy shall be administered by the University acting along with the Scholarship Committee. The Scholarship Committee instituted by the University to administer all scholarships comprises of a diverse range of members, representing different stakeholders of the University.


Scholarships is available in two categories: those for incoming students into the various courses (LLB, LLM and MPP), and those for existing students (either fresh scholarship grants or a renewal of an existing scholarship(s)).

NLSIU has already implemented a number of operational scholarships and fee waivers. As made clear from the CLAT brochure in the portion dealing with NLSIU: “The motto of NLSIU is that no one who secures admission to NLSIU shall discontinue studies on account of financial constraints. Keeping this in mind, the NLSIU will provide necessary financial assistance to the needy students.”. NLSIU is keen on finding ways to reach out to hitherto marginalized and under-represented groups, sensitize them to law as a career option, and help those interested to acquire admission to these law schools.

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.