Appointments & TransfersNews

In exercise of the powers conferred by clause (1) of Article 217 of the Constitution of India, the President is pleased to appoint the following 16 Additional Judges as Permanent Judges of Allahabad High Court:

  • Justice Rajiv Joshi
  • Justice Salil Kumar Rai
  • Justice Jayant Banerji
  • Justice Rajesh Singh Chauhan
  • Justice Saral Srivastava
  • Justice Jahangir Jamshed Munir
  • Justice Rajiv Gupta
  • Justice Siddharth
  • Justice Ajit Kumar
  • Justice Rajnish Kumar
  • Justice Abdul Moin
  • Justice Dinesh Kumar Singh
  • Justice Rajeev Misra
  • Justice Vivek Kumar Singh
  • Justice Chandra Dhari Singh
  • Justice Ajay Bhanot

Ministry of Law and Justice

[Notification dt. 04-09-2019]

Appointments & TransfersNews

The Right Hon Lord Reed will succeed Baroness Hale of Richmond as President of the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom, it was announced on 24-07-2019, alongside three additional appointments to the UK’s top appeal court.

Her Majesty The Queen made the appointments on the advice of the Prime Minister and Lord Chancellor, following the recommendations of independent selection commissions.

Lord Reed will take up the position of President on 11 January 2020. Lord Justice HamblenLord Justice Leggatt and Professor Andrew Burrows will join the Supreme Court as justices on 13 January, 21 April and 2 June 2020 respectively.

Lord Reed will replace Lady Hale who retires on 10 January 2020 after serving as President of the Supreme Court since September 2017.

[News Release dt. 24-07-2019]

Supreme Court of the United Kingdom

Case BriefsHigh Courts

Madhya Pradesh High Court: Subodh Abhyankar, J. allowed writ petition filed under Article 226 of the Constitution of India against the order issued by M.P. Public Service Commission. 

The petitioner contended that her name was kept in the waiting list at Serial 1 but despite the availability of post, she was not appointed. She appeared in the State Civil Services Exam, 2015, thereafter was selected under the waitlisted handicapped category. It was further contended that private-respondent had not been appointed on account of criminal cases registered against him and he was declared disqualified, the criminal cases registered against him were already decided by the Court against him. Thus it was submitted that the petitioner’s name cannot be kept in the waiting list for an unlimited period. 

Learned counsel for the respondents had submitted that although the petitioner was selected and her name was kept in the waiting list at Serial 1, but as the private-respondent had filed the petition, no order could be passed in favour of the petitioner due to the pendency of the said petition. 

The Court found that insofar the petition filed by the private-respondent was concerned, the said petition had been dismissed by the Court under a separate order and thus in its considered opinion the Court held, that there was no legal impediment in issuing the appointment order in favour of the petitioner, which difficulty has been expressed by the respondents in their reply. Hence, there was a direction to issue an appointment letter in favour of the petitioner. [Pooja Dwivedi v. State of M.P., 2019 SCC OnLine MP 1154, decided on 20-06-2019]

Appointments & TransfersNews

President is pleased to appoint Justice Ravi Shanker Jha, senior-most Judge of the Madhya Pradesh High Court, to perform the duties of the office of Chief Justice of the High Court with effect from 10-06-2019 consequent upon the retirement of Justice Sanjay Kumar Seth, Chief Justice, Madhya Pradesh High Court.

[Notification dt. 07-06-2019]

Ministry of Law and Justice