Law School Achievement Updates

SLSH Wins 2nd NJ Yasaswi National Moot Court Competition, ICFAI Ranchi, 2021

The team comprising Apsaraa Sridhar, Soorya Srinivas and Krishna Sridhar took part in the Shri N J Yasaswy Memorial National Moot Court Competition (Virtual Mode), and won the Best Memorial Award. The competition was organized by the Faculty of Law of the ICFAI University Ranchi, which was held from the 18th – 20th of December 2021. The team bagged the Best Memorial Award by competing against 20 other teams from esteemed law institutes all over India.

RGNUL wins Justice Dipak Misra International Moot 2(11) of 2021

Justice Dipak Misra International Moot 2(11) of 2021 was won by the Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Patiala team comprising Jyoti Jindal, Avik Aggarwal and Sanskriti Dixit. They were adjudged the winners of the competition conducted on 21st and 22nd November, 2021. The team also won a cash prize of Rs. 31,000. The moot pertained to Public International Law and was conducted by Geeta Institute of Law, Panipat.

SLS Pune wins the prestigious Foreign Direct Investment International Arbitration Moot, 2021 – Global Rounds

Symbiosis Law School Pune as the team representing the institution at Foreign DirectInvestment International Arbitration Moot, 2021, has won the Global Rounds of the competition.

The team comprised of – Devika Radha: (Oralist) – 5th year BBA LLB, batch 2017-22; Manasi Desai: (Oralist) – 5th year BALLB, batch 2017-22; Shreya Mukherjee: (Oralist) –  5th year BALLB, batch 2017-22; Jahanvi Sharma: 4th year BA LLB, batch 2018-23; Harsh Khanchandani: 3rd year BBA LLB, batch 2019-24.


The Achievements bagged by the SLS Pune team are as follows –

  1. Winning Team at the Global Rounds and recipient of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom Trophy
  2. Best Memorial for Respondent
  3. Honourable Mention Advocate (pleading at least 4 rounds): Devika Radha

Participation: This year 81 colleges from all across the world participated in the FDI Global Rounds and nearly 150 colleges participated in the associated regional and national rounds.

Case Record: This year the problem was based on an aviation sector investment that faltered on account of factors that the investor attributed to the host State. Pursuant to this, the arbitration under ICSID Additional Facility Rules raised certain important questions of jurisdiction, admissibility of amicus briefs, fair and equitable treatment violation and appropriate standard for compensation.

Finals: The finals concluded on November 03, 2021, between Symbiosis Law School, Pune (as Claimant) and University of Miami, School of Law (as Respondent). The arbitrators for finals included Dr. Yas Banifatemi, Professor Hi-Taek Shin and Mr. Mitchell Dorbyk. (You will find a lot of information about Yas Banifatemi and Hi-Taek Shin online. Meanwhile, Mitchell Dorbyk was part of the problem framing committee). The University of Miami, School of Law came Runners Up. While their second speaker Yesenia Alfonso was adjudged as the Best Speaker of the Final Rounds. The entire final match was live-streamed on YouTube.

This is only the second time that an Indian Team has managed to prevail at the finals in FDI history, ever since its inception in 2008. The other time was in 2017 when NLS, Bangalore had won the competition.

Symbiosis Law School, Hyderabad wins 2nd NJ Yasaswi National Moot Court Competition, ICFAI Tripura, 2021

The team comprising Shubangi G, Janaswamy Venkata Lakshmi Tanya and Tanushree Aiyar from the 2025 batch of Symbiosis Law School, Hyderabad has emerged as the Winner at the 2nd NJ Yasaswi National Moot Court Competition, ICFAI Tripura, 2021. The competition was being organized on the 22nd and 23rd of December, 2021. A total of 20 teams took part in the preliminary rounds from different law schools across the country. Not only did the team emerge as overall winners but additionally, Tanya Janaswamy has been adjudged as the best speaker.


Speakers: Shubangi G, Tanya Janaswamy
Researcher: Tanushree Aiyar
Competition Name: 2nd NJ Yasaswi National Moot Court Competition
Organized by: ICFAI Tripura, 2021
Dates: 22nd and 23rd of December, 2021
Total number of participating teams: 20
Teams in Knockout round: 8
Teams in semifinals: 4
Teams in Finals: 2

MNLU, Aurangabad emerged as winner at the 4th Shri I.M. Nanavati Virtual Memorial Moot Court Competition, 2022

Maharashtra National Law University, Aurangabad(MNLU, Aurangabad) has emerged as the WINNER at the 4th Shri I.M. Nanavati Virtual Memorial Moot Court Competition organised by Gujarat Law Society (GLS) University, Ahmedabad. The team was awarded a cash prize of INR 2,25,000, a trophy and certificates.


The team comprising Rupsee Nerlikar, Riya Garg and Parag Kabra (Second year students) has emerged as Winner at the 4th Shri I.M. Nanavati Virtual Memorial Moot Court Competition.  The competition was organized by GLS University, Ahmedabad and was held on the 7th -9th January, 2022. A total of 32 teams participated during the preliminary rounds from various law schools across the country. The moot proposition required the participants to refer and research through a wide range of laws including Constitutional Laws, Motor Vehicle Act etc. The team cleared the preliminary, quarter and Semi Final rounds and qualified to the final round against the West Bengal National University of Judicial Science.


Also Ms. Rupsee Nerlikar emerged as Best Advocate in the competition.

Speakers: Rupsee Nerlikar, Parag Kabra

Researcher: Riya Garg

Dates: 07/01/2022 – 09/01/2022.

NUJS emerged Runners up in the prestigious Shri IM Nanavati Memorial Moot Court Competition, 2022

The NUJS team comprising of Anant Prakash Mishra, Eishan Mehta and Sharique Uddin, emerged Runners up in the prestigious Shri IM Nanavati Memorial Moot Court Competition, 2022.

Additionally, Anant Prakash Mishra won the Best Advocate Award (Respondents) and Sharique Uddin won the Best Researcher Award.

The competition was held virtually from January 7 to 9, 2022 virtually. It was graced by Justice Ms Bela Trivedi Supreme Court of India, Justice Mr Bhargav Karia (Gujarat High Court) and Justice Ms Sangeeta Vishen. The competition has highest cash prize as reward for any domestic moot court competition.

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.