Labour Law | USA Minimum Wages

The brief discusses minimum wages of Federal and State Level of USA.

 

USA Minimum Wage 2021

States

2021

Federal $7.25
Alaska $10.34
Arizona $ 12.15
Arkansas $11.00
California $13.00 (employer with 25 employees or less)
$14.00 (employer with 26 employee or more)
Connecticut $12.00 (September 1, 2020)
$13.00 (August 1, 2021)
Colorado $12.32
Delaware $9.25
District of Colombia $15
Florida $8.65
Georgia $5.15
Note: Georgia’s law sets minimum wage as $5.15 per hour. However, the federal minimum wage of $7.25 still applies to most jobs. But those that are not covered under the Fair Labor Standards Act may pay the lower rate.
Hawaii $10.10
Idaho $7.25
Illinois $11.00 (January 1, 2021)
Indiana $ 7.25
Iowa $7.25
Kansas $7.25
Kentucky $7.25
Louisiana No state law governing minimum wage.
Federal Law Minimum wage applicable
$7.25
Maine $12.15
Maryland $11.75 ( non-exempt Maryland workers who work for employers with more than 14 employees)
$11.60 ( non-exempt Maryland workers who work for employers with 14 or fewer employees)
Massachusetts $13.50
Michigan $9.65
Minnesota $10.08 (Large employer)
$ 8.21 (small employer)
Mississippi No state law governing minimum wage.
Federal Law Minimum wage applicable
$7.25
Missouri $10.30
Montana $8.75
Nebraska $9.00
Nevada $8.75 (for employees with employer-offered qualifying health benefits)
$9.75 ( for all other employees)
New Hampshire $7.25
New Jersey $12.00
New Mexico $10.50
New York $14.00(employer in Long Island & Westchester)
$12.50 (remainder of new York state workers)
$15.00 (New York City- Small employer)
$15.00 (New York City- Big employer, i.e. every employer with 11 or more employees)
North Carolina $7.25
North Dakota $7.25
Ohio $8.80
Oklahoma $7.25
Oregon $12.75 Standard Counties (effective July 01, 2021)
$14.00 Portland Metro (effective July 01, 2021)
Pennsylvania $7.25
Puerto Rico $6.55
Note: Puerto Rico law sets minimum wage as $6.55 per hour. However, the federal minimum wage of $7.25 still applies to most jobs. But those that are not covered under the Fair Labor Standards Act may pay the lower rate.
South Carolina No state law governing minimum wage.
Federal Law Minimum wage applicable
$7.25
South Dakota $9.45
Tennessee No state law governing minimum wage.
Federal Law Minimum wage applicable
$7.25
Texas $7.25
Utah $7.25
Vermont $11.75 per hour
Virginia $9.50 – Effective May 1, 2021;
$11.00- Effective January 1, 2022;
$12.00- Effective January 1, 2023;
$13.50- Effective January 1, 2025
$15.00- Effective January 1, 2026
Washington $13.69
West Virginia $8.75
Wisconsin $7.25
Wyoming $ 7.25

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.