Supreme Court: The 3-judge bench of SA Bobde, CJI and AS Bopanna and V. Ramasubramanian, JJ has stayed the arrest of congress MP Shashi Tharoor and Journalists Rajdeep Sardesai, Mrinal Pande, Zafar Agha, Paresh Nath, Anant Nath and Vinod Jose, in multiple FIRs filed against them over tweets on the death of a protester n during the January 26 tractor rally in the Capital.

The bench has issued notice in the matter and had listed the matter after 2 weeks.

The order reads,

“Issue notice returnable in two weeks. In the meantime, there shall be stay of arrest of the petitioners.”

As reported in Hindustan Times[1], the petitioners have sought quashing of the criminal cases against them and protection of their fundamental right to free speech and expression guaranteed under Article 19(1)(a) of the Constitution.

[Shashi Tharoor v. Union of India, 2021 SCC OnLine SC 73, order dated 09.02.2021]

[1] Supreme Court stays arrest of Shashi Tharoor, Rajdeep Sardesai and 5 other journalists, Hindustan Times, Published on Feb 09, 2021 12:30 PM IST

Must Watch

maintenance to second wife

bail in false pretext of marriage

right to procreate of convict

Criminology, Penology and Victimology book release

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.