Indo Bangladesh Land Agreement: Election Commission Notifies Indian Enclaves as Constituencies

The protracted process of resolving, incorporating and recognising the enclaves received vide the Indo Bangladesh Land Agreement and effectuated by the Constitution (One Hundredth Amendment) Act, 2015 finally culminated with the notification issued by the Election Commission of India (ECI) dated 5th March, 2016, whereby the amalgamated territories have been recognised as Indian constituencies. Earlier, the Ministry of Home Affairs had already granted Indian citizenship to the residents of such territories, but this new notification has now recognised those areas as electorates and enabled the newly inducted citizens to exercise their franchise.

  1. The notification earmarks a total area of 7110.02 acres having 51 enclaves, which stand distributed between 6 legislative and 3 parliamentary constituencies.
  2. The legislative constituencies are – Mekhliganj, Sitalkuchi, Sitai, Dinhata, Natabari and Tufanganj while the parliamentary constituencies are – Jalpaiguri, Coochbehar and Alipurduars.

Objections/suggestions addressing the notification have been invited by the ECI until 1700hrs of 12th March, 2016 upon which the notification would be finalised.

-Election Commission of India

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.