Hot Off The PressNews

As reported by PTI, Ranjan Gogoi, CJ has written to the Prime Minister of India, Narendra Modi in respect to:

  • Increase in the number of Supreme Court Judges, i.e. Increase in the strength
  • Retirement Age of the High Court Judges to be 65 Years

These suggestions have been placed in regard to clearing of the backlog cases. Further stating that there is a pendency of 58,669 cases in the Supreme Court and the number was increasing due to the filing of more fresh cases.

“I request you to kindly consider, on top priority, to augment the judge-strength in the SC appropriately so that it can function more efficiently and effectively as it will go a long way to attain ultimate goal of rendering timely justice to the litigant public.” 

Another suggestion was to increase the retirement age of the Judges from 62 to 65 years in the High Court’s, as:

“One of the prime reasons why we are not able to contain the ever-growing pendency is shortage of HC judges. At present, 399 posts, or 37 per cent of sanctioned judge-strength, are vacant. The existing vacancies need to be filled immediately. However, despite best efforts put in by all stakeholders, it has not been possible to appoint judges to bring the working judge-strength anywhere close to the sanctioned judge-strength”.

“This, in turn, would help in improving the vacancy position and consequently reducing pendency of cases. This would also be in consonance with the (repeated) recommendations made by parliamentary standing committees.”

[Source: PTI]

Hot Off The PressNews

Shri Narendra Modi Prime Minister and also in-charge of:

Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions;

Department of Atomic Energy;

Department of Space; and

All important policy issues; and

All other portfolios not allocated to any Minister.

Cabinet Ministers

1. Shri Raj Nath Singh Minister of Defence.
2. Shri Amit Shah Minister of Home Affairs.
3. Shri Nitin Jairam Gadkari Minister of Road Transport and Highways; and

Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises.

4. Shri D.V. Sadananda Gowda Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers.
5. Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman Minister of Finance; and

Minister of Corporate Affairs.

6. Shri Ramvilas Paswan Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution.
7. Shri Narendra Singh Tomar Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare;

Minister of Rural Development; and

Minister of Panchayati Raj.


8. Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad Minister of Law and Justice;

Minister of Communications; and

Minister of Electronics and Information Technology.

9. Smt. Harsimrat Kaur Badal Minister of Food Processing Industries.
10. Shri Thaawar Chand Gehlot Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment.
11. Dr. Subrahmanyam Jaishankar Minister of External Affairs.
12. Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ Minister of Human Resource Development.
13. Shri Arjun Munda Minister of Tribal Affairs.
14. Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani Minister of Women and Child Development; and Minister of Textiles.
15. Dr. Harsh Vardhan Minister of Health and Family Welfare;

Minister of Science and Technology; and

Minister of Earth Sciences.

16. Shri Prakash Javadekar Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change; and

Minister of Information and Broadcasting.

17. Shri Piyush Goyal Minister of Railways; and

Minister of Commerce and Industry.

18. Shri Dharmendra Pradhan Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas; and

Minister of Steel.

19. Shri Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi Minister of Minority Affairs.
20. Shri Pralhad Joshi Minister of

Parliamentary Affairs;

Minister of Coal; and

Minister of Mines.

21. Dr. Mahendra Nath Pandey Minister of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.
22. Shri Arvind Ganpat Sawant Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprise.
23. Shri Giriraj Singh Minister of Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries.
24. Shri Gajendra Singh Shekhawat Minister of Jal Shakti.

[Source: PIB]