Proposal for appointment of following six Additional Judges of the Calcutta High Court, as Permanent Judges of that High Court:

1. Justice Rajasekhar Mantha,
2. Justice Protik Prakash Banerjee,
3. Justice Sabyasachi Bhattacharyya,
4. Justice Moushumi Bhattacharya,
5. Justice Shekhar Bobby Saraf, and
6. Justice Rajarshi Bharadwaj

Collegium comprising of Ranjan Gogoi, CJ and S.A. Bobde and N.V. Ramana, JJ. stated that,

For the purpose of assessing merit and suitability of the abovenamed recommendees for appointment as Permanent Judges, we have carefully scrutinized the material placed on record, including certain complaints against some of the above-named recommendees. 

On overall assessment and having regard to all relevant factors including the views of our consultee-colleagues, concurrence of the State Government, the Judgment Committee Report and the observations made by the Department of Justice in the file, the Collegium is of the view that

Justices (1) Rajasekhar Mantha, (2) Sabyasachi Bhattacharyya, (3) Moushumi Bhattacharya, (4) Shekhar Bobby Saraf, and (5) Rajarshi Bharadwaj, Additional Judges, are suitable for being appointed as Permanent Judges.

Whereas, in regards to Justice Protik Prakash Banerjee Collegium is of the considered view that, for the present, he be appointed as Additional Judge for a fresh term of six months w.e.f. 21-09-2019.

[Collegium Resolution dt. 31-07-2019]

Supreme Court of India

Must Watch

maintenance to second wife

bail in false pretext of marriage

right to procreate of convict

Criminology, Penology and Victimology book release

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.