Supreme Court: The Vacation Bench of Surya Kant and JB Pardiwala, JJ has given a go ahead to the Special Session of the Maharashtra Vidhan Sabha to be convened at 11:00 on 30.0­6.­2022 for trust vote.

The order came when Senior Advocate Abhishek Manu Singhvi mentioned the matter before the Court at 5pm on 29.06.2022 and the hearing concluded at 9pm. The writ petition sought for setting aside the Maharashtra Governor’s communication/directions dated 28­6­2022 to the Chief Minister of   Maharashtra as also the Secretary, Maharashtra Legislative Assembly to conduct the Trust Vote on 30.06.2022 and conclude it by 5pm.

The Supreme Court has “found no reason” to interfere with the aforementioned direction and has directed that the special session be conducted as per the Governor’s directions. As an aftermath of the order, Uddhav Thakrey has resigned as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra[1].

[Sunil Prabhu v. Governor of Maharashtra, 2022 SCC OnLine SC 776, order dated 29.06.2022]

For petitioners: Dr. Abhishek Manu Singhvi, Sr.Adv., Mr. Devadatt Kamat, Sr. Adv., Mr. Javedur Rahman, AOR, Mr. Rajesh Inamdar, Adv., Mr. Shivendra Singh, Adv., Mr. Hemant Shah, Adv., Mr. Amit Bhandari, Adv., Mr. Sunny Jain, Adv., Mr. Nidhiram, Adv., Mr. Harsh Pandey, Adv., Mr. Revanta Solanki, Adv.

For Respondent(s): Mr. Tushar Mehta, SG, Mr. Satyapal Jain, ASG, Mr. Neeraj Kishan Kaul, Sr. Adv., Mr. Siddharth Bhatnagar, Sr. Adv., Mr. Rajat Nair, Adv., Mr. Kanu Agarwal, Adv., Mr. A.K. Sharma, AOR,  Mr. Siddharth Dharmadhikari, Adv., Mr. Abhikalp Pratap Singh, AOR, Ms. Gunjan Mangla, Adv., Ms. Aagam Kaur, Adv., Mr. Abhay Anturkar, Adv., Ms. Aarzoo Aneja, Adv., Mr. Dhruv Sharma, Adv., Ms. Ira Mahajan, Adv., Ms. Pracheta Kar, Adv., Ms. Aadya Yadav, Adv., Mr. Toshiv Goyal, Adv., Mr. Raghav Agrawal, Adv., Mr. Ramchandra Madan, Adv., Mr. Deepak Joshi, Adv., Mr. Maninder Singh, Sr. Adv., Mr. Mahesh Jethmalani, Sr. Adv., Mr. Chirag Shah, Adv., Mr. Utsav Trivedi, Adv., Mr. Abhinay, AOR, Mr. Himanshu Sacheva, Adv., Ms. Manini Roy, Adv., Mr. Pooran Chand Roy, Adv., Ms. Shivani Bhushan, Adv., Mr. Rahul Garg, Adv., Mr. Prabhas Bajaj, Adv., Mr. Pranav Saigal, Adv., Mr. Rahul Chitnis, Adv., Mr. Sachin Patil, AOR, Mr. Geo Joseph, Adv., Ms. Shewtal Shepal, Adv.

[1] The Tribune, June 29, 2022,

Must Watch

SCC Blog Guidelines

Justice BV Nagarathna

call recording evidence in court


Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.