6th The Dastur National Moot Court Competition, 2023 organized jointly by Government Law College, Mumbai and The Chamber of Tax Consultants.

The Government Law College, Mumbai is pleased to announce the Sixth Edition of The Dastur National Moot Court Competition, 2023.


In light of celebrating its 90th Anniversary, the Chamber had introduced the National Tax Moot Court Competition in 2017 with the support of the Government Law College, Mumbai. This year marks the Sixth Edition of the National Tax Moot Court Competition, now renamed as The Dastur National Moot Court Competition.

The Government Law College, established in 1855, is the oldest law colleges in Asia, a pioneer in legal education – an institution par excellence. The generations of legal luminaries who have been nurtured by this unique institution have made a seminal contribution to the evolution of the Indian Legal System. Dr. Dinshaw Mulla, Mr. A. A. A. Fyzee and Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar have all been the principals of this venerated institution. The first Chief Justice of India, Hon’ble Mr. Harilal Kania was an alumnus of this college. Former Hon’ble Chief Justices of India – Mr. M. H. Kania, Mr. P. N. Bhagwati and Mr. S. P. Bharucha all began their careers at GLC. The Hon’ble President of India – Her Excellency Ms. Pratibha Patil, the Chief Justice of India – Hon’ble Mr. Justice S.H. Kapadia, Mr. Soli Sorabjee, Mr. Fali Nariman, Mr. Anil Divan, Mr. T. R. Andhyarujina and Mr. Goolam Vahanvati have all been students of this very institution.

The Chamber of Tax Consultants (CTC) Mumbai is a non-profit organization established in the year 1926. The organization was formed to serve the object of educating and creating awareness among its members in the field of Direct Tax, Indirect Tax, Allied Laws, Corporate Laws, and International Tax etc. It has robust membership strength of about 4,000 professionals, comprising of Chartered Accountants, Advocates, Tax Practitioners, Company Secretaries, Corporates and Students. The Chamber is very active in making effective representations before Regulatory Authorities and is also instrumental in filing Public Interest Litigations.


Maximum of ~16 teams shall participate and the registrations shall be accepted on first-come first-serve basis. The competition will be conducted in a hybrid mode. The Preliminary Rounds and Quarter Final Rounds will be held online via Zoom Meeting on 27th May, 2023 (Saturday) and the Semifinal Rounds and Final Round of arguments will be held offline (physical mode) on 10th June, 2023 in Mumbai. The said Rounds shall be judged by members of the tax fraternity, Hon’ble Members of the ITAT and the Hon’ble Judges of the High Court. There shall be prizes for the Best Team, Second Best Team, Best Speaker, Second Best Speaker, Best Memorial and Second-Best Memorial.


This year, the Moot Proposition shall be based on based on new-age technology driven transactions such as online gaming, crypto currency, etc. as well as fundamental concepts of residential status, assessment jurisdiction and capital receipts.


Release of Moot: 6th April 2023

Last date for registration for the competition: 21st April, 2023

Last date for seeking clarifications: 25th April, 2023

Last date of submission of soft copies of Memorials: 12th May, 2023

Last date of submission of hard copies of Memorials: 2nd June, 2023

Preliminary and Quarter-final Rounds (Online): 27th May, 2023

Semi-final and Final Rounds (Offline): 10th June, 2023


All the teams shall provisionally register by sending a mail to

The payment of the registration fees will be through NEFT in the amount of Rs. 2,000/- (Rupees Two Thousand only) the details of which will be provided once the provisional registration has been confirmed.

Accommodation shall be provided only to teams qualifying for the Semi-final and Final Rounds residing outside of Mumbai.


All students of any recognized law colleges of the country can participate. Each team shall comprise of Three Students (Two Speakers and One Researcher).


Please note that the last date for registration of the competition is 21st April, 2023. Kindly refer to The Chamber of Tax Consultants website, for Rules of 6th The Dastur National Moot Court Competition, Moot Problem, etc.


Moot Court Association Contact Persons:

Registrations: Ms. Tanisha Singh (+91 7219086618)

Accommodation and Travel: Ms. Palomi Visaria (+91 9930090457)

Memorials: Mr. Paramyaa Nand (+91 9499553337)

To know more click on Proposition- 6th The Dastur National Moot Court Competition 2023, Rules – 6th The Dastur National Moot Court Competition 2023 and Schedule- 6th The Dastur National Moot Court Competition 2023

Must Watch

Obscenity Book Release of EBC

International Arbitration Dialogues

Sr. Adv. Sidharth Luthra on perceiving obscenity

Justice Shakdher on Obscenity book

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.