8th AURO NATIONAL MOOT COURT COMPETITION, 2022 organized by the Auro Litigiousus Committee, School of Law, Auro University, Surat, Gujarat.

The Competition is scheduled from September 9 to September 11, 2022, and is being organized in collaboration with the Competition Commission of India, in collaboration with our knowledge partners, SCC Online, and Eastern Book Company.

This competition is known for its excellent choice of moot debates with this year bringing one of the biggest amount of competitors with more than 40 teams from among the most prestigious law schools around the nation.

We, at Auro University believe in learning with doing. Invigorating a sense of pride and confidence among our students to one day lead the nation to its next step.

Keeping in mind this and with the thirst for knowledge,this year’s moot court topics been chosen to understand, explore and advance the nuances of competition law and intellectual laws. The organizing team has worked day and night to make the 8th national moot court competition a haven of learning and experience for our future lawyers.

We welcome all the judges and the participants and hope that we are able to make this a memorable event for all. The Moot Proposition revolves around contemporary issues in the field of competition law and its intersection with Intellectual Property Rights.

Best Wishes to all the teams participating!


11:00 am – Online Registration of the teams and Draw of lots

The 8th Auro National Moot Court Competition commences with the Online Registration of all 41 teams through Google meet. The registration of the teams was followed by the Draw of lots for the Preliminary Round-1 and Preliminary Round-2. The Details are sent to the respective teams and queries are solved by their respective team escorts.


12 Noon – Researchers Test

Once done with the online registration, the researcher’s test is conducted to test the various qualities of a good researcher, including knowledge related to facts, laws, and intricacies of the Moot problem. The test consists of both Multiple & Subjective questions based on applicable laws, precedents, and facts pertaining to the preposition, it is via online medium. The participants are required to keep their audio and video on throughout the researcher’s test. It is a 30 minutes’ test that shall end by 12:30 pm.

2:30 pm – Exchange of Memorials

At 2:30 pm the memorials of the respective teams were exchanged via email to the respective team members.The participants’ queries have been answered and the exchange of memorials between the teams has taken place to the satisfaction of the participants.

4:00 pm- Inauguration ceremony

The ceremony begins with an introduction by Ambika Chaturvedi an executive member of the ALC committee, and a sincere welcome by Dr.Shilpi Sharma Head Of Department of School of Law, and an inspiring speech by Former Chief Justice of India Mr. K.G.Balakrishnan who is conveying us the duties of a lawyer to the legal system and to the society while finishing it with an influencing quote: “it is a lawyer’s duty to lead his clients through the channels of wisdom”. His words have inspired us in unknowing ways which we will keep with us till the time comes to an end.

6:00 pm- Preliminary Round-1

With an unfettering zeal, the Preliminary Round has taken off in full swing in all the courtrooms and the teams are presenting their arguments, which they have worked tirelessly on, in high spirits. The judges are actively attempting to dissect the counsels’ arguments and the questions pour in. The teams are well prepared and they answer the questions by citing the relevant law. Following the intense mooting session, the teams portrayed their best efforts.

The competition has taken off to a spirited start as we conclude our Preliminary Round-1, best wishes to all the participants for the results which will advance them to the Preliminary Round-2.

8:00 pm- Exchange of Memorial (Prelim 2)

At 8:00 pm the memorials of the respective teams were exchanged via email to the respective team members. The participants’ queries have been answered and the exchange of memorials between the teams has taken place to the satisfaction of the participants.


Second Preliminary Round is scheduled at 10 Am on September 10, 2022. All the teams who had registered for the competition will appear for the Preliminary Round II.

9:45 AM : The respective Court Clerks has started the meeting. The respective teams have joined the Court Room with their team codes.

9:57 AM : All the judges enter the Court Room, and the Court Clerk briefs the teams and the judges the rules of the Competition.

10:00 AM : Preliminary Round-2 starts. Juries are

10:27 am: Courtroom 10 Speaker 1 applies relevant precedents to conclude the issue of jurisdiction.

10:30 am: Courtroom 10 Judge questions the speaker whilst stating that the Precedent Judgement given is misleading. The Courtroom sees hustle as the Judge questions the counsel representing the petitioner the counsel representing the petitioner.

10:42 am: With developments beginning to be seen in Courtroom 09 as the Bench lays out questions for the petitioner.

10:46 am:Courtroom 09 petitioner exceeds the time, questions still left unanswered.

10:48 am: Courtroom 02 commences with the Respondent’s pleadings.

10:51 am: The Judges Bench puts forward a series of questions for the respondents.

11:10 am: After an intriguing set of arguments by all of the teams, we have now arrived at the end of the second session of the Prelims.

Witnessing the sheer amalgamation of arguments on the veracity of law both between theteams was much of applause. The moments were surely captivating to delve on.

The depth of skills inculcated in the students in interpreting the law and its statutes is definitely staggering to watch.

12 Noon- Results for the Preliminary Rounds

The preliminary rounds have also come to an end. The teams continued to showcase their great preparation with splendid performances. These rounds were just as heated as the preliminary rounds and with their culmination, the battle for the top 16 spots now stands concluded.

The wait for the results is finally over!

Here we present the top 16 teams that have qualified for the Octa Finals Round –

NLIU Bhopal

Ramaiah College of Law, Bengaluru


Kristu Jayanti College of Law

Christ university, Lavasa

OP Jindal Global University

TN.Dr. Ambedkar law university, School of excellence in law

Christ Academy Institute of Law, Bengaluru

GLC, Mumbai

Government Law College, Vellore

Lloyd Law College

Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University (A Central University), Lucknow

Symbiosis Law School, Pune

University Institute of Legal Studies, Panjab University

SASTRA Deemed to be University, Thanjavur

Brainware University

1:00 pm– Octa Finals Round

The stage is all set with the commencement of the exciting Octa-Final Rounds, with the teams pitted against one another for a thrilling show of events. We anxiously wait to find out which of the teams’ manage to keep their wits and make it to the next rounds of the Competition. May the best team win.

3:15 pm– Octa Finals Results

With the teams continuing to exhibit great argumentation and mooting skills, the Octa-Final Rounds have finally concluded.

Here are the teams qualifying for the Quarter Finals-

Ramaiah College of Law, Bengaluru


TN.Dr. Ambedkar law university, school of

Symbiosis Law School, Pune

OP Jindal Global University

GLC, Mumbai

Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University (A Central University),

SASTRA Deemed to be University, Thanjavur




Must Watch

Public and private space for obscenity

Obscenity Book Release of EBC

International Arbitration Dialogues

Sr. Adv. Sidharth Luthra on perceiving obscenity

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.