4th The Chamber of Tax Consultants National Moot Court Competition, 2020.
The Government Law College, Mumbai is pleased to announce the Fourth Edition of The Chamber of Tax Consultants National Moot Court Competition, 2020.

In light of celebrating its 90th Anniversary, the Chamber had introduced the National Tax Moot Court Competition in 2017 with the support of the Government Law College, Mumbai. This year marks the Fourth Edition of the National Tax Moot Court Competition.

The Government Law College, established in 1855 is the oldest law colleges in Asia, a pioneer in legal education – an institution par excellence. The generations of legal luminaries who have been nurtured by this unique institution have made a seminal contribution to the evolution of the Indian Legal System. Dr. Dinshaw Mulla, Mr. A. A. A. Fyzee and Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar have all been the Principals of this venerated institution. The first Chief Justice of India, Hon’ble Mr. Harilal Kania was an alumnus of this college. Former Hon’ble Chief Justices of India – Mr. M. H. Kania, Mr. P. N. Bhagwati and Mr. S. P. Bharucha all began their careers at GLC. The Hon’ble President of India – Her Excellency Ms. Pratibha Patil, the Chief Justice of India – Hon’ble Mr. Justice S.H. Kapadia, Mr. Soli Sorabjee, Mr. Fali Nariman, Mr. Anil Divan, Mr. T. R. Andhyarujina and Mr. Goolam Vahanvati have all been students of this very institution.

Established in 1926, the Chamber of Tax Consultants is a 93 years non profit organisation with the core objective of professional development of its member spread across the accounting, tax & legal aspects. It has robust membership strength of about 4000 professionals, comprising of Chartered Accountants, Advocates, Tax Practitioners, Company Secretaries, Corporates and students. The Chamber provides networking platforms to professionals through interactive meetings and seminars. Some of the renowned personalities like Shri S. E. Dastur, Shri Y. P. Trivedi, Shri V. H. Patil, Dr. K. Shivaram, Shri S. N. Inamdar have led the Chamber as Presidents. Its vision is to be a powerhouse of knowledge in the field of fiscal laws in the global economy. The chamber contributes to the development of law and the profession through research, analysis and dissemination of knowledge. It has Mumbai and Delhi chapters and has study group in Pune and Bangalore. Its day-to-day functioning is undertaken across various subject based committees such as direct tax, indirect tax, international tax, membership & public relations, IT Connect. Annually it organises at least three RRCs, international study tours, releases topical / theme based & informative journal which has been acknowledged as a unique offering by many a professionals. Apart from the Moot Court Competition , The Chamber organises Dastur Essay Competition, Debate Competition, football and cricket tournaments and various orientation courses for students. The Chamber is also very active in making effective representations before Regulatory Authorities and is also instrumental in filing Public Interest Litigations.

Maximum of 16 teams shall participate and the registrations shall be accepted on first-come first- serve basis. The Oral Rounds of the competition are scheduled to be held during the period 17th&18th April 2020. The said Rounds shall be judged by members of the tax fraternity, Hon’ble Members of the ITAT and the Hon’ble Judges of the High Court. There shall be prizes for the Winning Team,Runner up Team, Best Speaker, Runner up Speaker and Best Memorial.

This year, the Moot Proposition shall be based on Income Tax Act, 1961.

Opening of registration: 21st February, 2020.
Last date for registration for the competition: 10th March, 2020.
Last date of submission of soft copies of Memorials: 25th March, 2020. Last date of submission of hard copies of Memorials: 3rd April, 2020. Oral Rounds: 17th and 18th April, 2020.

Registration fees for teams from Mumbai shall be Rs. 4,000/-
Registration fees for teams from outside of Mumbai shall be Rs. 5,000/-
Accommodation shall be provided to teams representing colleges outside of Mumbai only. Payment is to be made in the favour of “The Chamber of Tax Consultants” via Demand Draft. Please note that teams must send the Hard Copy of the Registration Form and Demand Draft by 3rd April 2020, and must email the Soft Copy of the Registration Form and Demand Draft to taxmootglc@gmail.com by 10th March 2020, latest.

All students of any recognized law colleges of the country can participate. Each team shall comprise of three students- two speakers and one researcher.

Please note that the last date for registration of the competition is 10th March 2020 and must be done through an email to taxmootglc@gmail.com.
Kindly refer to The Chamber of Tax Consultants website www.ctconline.org, and www.lawctopus.com for Rules of the Moot Court Competition, Moot Problems, etc.

Ms. Ruchi Wagaralkar: (+91) 9833898280

 Mr. Devavrat Nimbalkar: (+91) 9892565045  

Must Watch

maintenance to second wife

bail in false pretext of marriage

right to procreate of convict

Criminology, Penology and Victimology book release

One comment

Join the discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.