{"id":396361,"date":"2026-09-16T16:30:56","date_gmt":"2026-09-16T11:00:56","guid":{"rendered":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/?p=396361"},"modified":"2026-09-17T16:50:05","modified_gmt":"2026-09-17T11:20:05","slug":"supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982","status":"publish","type":"post","link":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/2026\/09\/16\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\/","title":{"rendered":"Supreme Court on Disability Pension: Entitlement Rules 2008 Substantially Retain 1982 Scheme; Burden Shifts to Ex-Servicemen After 15 Years"},"content":{"rendered":"<div style=\"text-align: justify; line-height: 150%;\">\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\"><span style=\"font-weight: bold;\">Supreme Court:<\/span> In a batch of appeals concerning entitlement of ex-servicemen to the disability element of service pension, a Division Bench of <span style=\"font-weight: bold;\">Pamidighantam Sri Narasimha and Alok Aradhe, JJ.<\/span>, examined the legal effect of the Entitlement Rules, 2008 (2008 Rules) vis-&agrave;-vis the Entitlement Rules, 1982 (1982 Rules). The Court held that, assuming the Entitlement Rules, 2008 have legal effect, they substantially reproduce the 1982 scheme on causal connection, onus, attributability and aggravation, subject to the limited qualification under Rule 7 shifting the burden upon the claimant where the claim is preferred after 15 years. The Court, however, noted that the Union had failed to demonstrate the source, time and manner in which the 2008 Rules were validly promulgated so as to repeal or supersede the 1982 Rules, and emphasised that the applicable pensionary rules must be formulated and notified authoritatively by the competent authority.<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Court further held that the opinion of the Medical Board deserves due weight and ought not to be substituted merely because another view is possible, while directing tribunals to scrutinise the opinion and reasons of the Medical Board in pending matters. Dismissing the present batch of appeals on the grounds of delay as well as on merits, the Court clarified that in claims preferred after 15 years, the burden under Rule 7 of the 2008 Rules shifts upon the claimant to prove the conditions of entitlement.<\/p>\n<p style=\"font-weight: bold;\">Background<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The appeals concerned the entitlement of ex-servicemen to the disability element of service pension upon retirement, i.e. on completion of service or engagement. The Court noted that the present appeals were only a &#8220;speck&#8221; in comparison to the large number of similar matters already dismissed on delay and on merits. In each case, the Release Medical Board (RMB) had opined that the disability was neither attributable to nor aggravated by military service (NANA). The ex-servicemen thereafter approached the Armed Forces Tribunal (AFT) or the High Courts, which granted disability pension on the premise that the disability was attributable to or aggravated by military service (A\/A). The Union challenged those orders before the Court.<\/p>\n<p style=\"font-weight: bold;\">Analysis<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Court examined the 1982 Rules and 2008 Rules, which govern the determination of attributability, aggravation and the degree of disability. Under Rule 5 of the 1982 Rules, a service member was presumed to have been in sound physical and mental condition upon entering service, except for disabilities noted at entry, and deterioration in health was presumed to have occurred due to military service.<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Union contended that the 2008 Rules fundamentally altered this framework by removing the presumption of attributability and introducing a requirement of &#8220;causal connection&#8221; between the disability and military service. The Rules nevertheless preserved the disability element for personnel retiring after completion of their engagement, where the disability was attributable to or aggravated by military service and assessed at not less than 20 per cent.<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Court further noted that while Rule 6 required the causal connection to be established, Rule 7 retained the procedural protection regarding the onus of proof, ordinarily placing the burden upon the authorities, subject to the exception of claims preferred after 15 years. Rule 10 set out the twin conditions for establishing that a disease is attributable to military service, with Rule 10(b)(iii) providing that attributability may be conceded where the cause of the disease is not known at all. Rule 11 dealt with aggravation.<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Union characterised the 2008 Rules as a fundamental departure, whereas the ex-servicemen contended that the foundational principles of the 1982 Rules remained virtually unaltered. The Court, therefore, proceeded to examine the legal precedents, including <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Dharamvir Singh<\/span> v. <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Union of India<\/span>, before determining the effect of the 2008 Rules.<\/p>\n<p style=\"font-weight: bold;\">Developments through Judicial Interpretation<\/p>\n<ul style=\"list-style-type: disc;\">\n<li>\n<p><span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Position prior to Dharamvir Singh<\/span> v. <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Union of India<\/span>, <a href=\"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/DocumentLink.aspx?q=JTXT-0000048919\" target=\"_blank\">(2013) 7 SCC 316<\/a><\/p>\n<\/li>\n<\/ul>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Attorney General (AG) relied on <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Ministry of Defence<\/span> v. <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">A.V. Damodaran<\/span>, <a href=\"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/DocumentLink.aspx?q=JTXT-0000043700\" target=\"_blank\">(2009) 9 SCC 140<\/a> and other pre-Dharamvir Singh decisions to submit that mere manifestation of a disease during military service does not, by itself, confer entitlement to disability element. The Court noted that disability pension was denied where the Medical Board opined the disability as NANA, as it was required to be established that the conditions of military service caused or contributed to the onset or aggravation of the disease.<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Court noted the Union&#8217;s submission that entitlement to disability element is not an automatic consequence of any illness or disability occurring or manifesting during military service. The fact that an individual was medically fit at enrolment and subsequently developed a disease establishes only the time of its manifestation; it does not establish that the disease was caused or aggravated by service. The Court thereafter proceeded to examine the pre-Dharamvir Singh precedents in the light of the law laid down therein.<\/p>\n<ul style=\"list-style-type: disc;\">\n<li>\n<p style=\"font-style: italic;\">Decision of this Court in Dharamvir Singh<\/p>\n<\/li>\n<\/ul>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Court examined <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Dharamvir Singh<\/span> v. <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Union of India<\/span> and noted that the decision was rendered in the context of the 1982 Rules. Under the said Rules, a member was presumed to have been in sound physical and mental condition upon entering service, and where no disability or disease was recorded at the time of acceptance for service, a disease subsequently leading to discharge could be deemed to have arisen in service. The Court further noted that the onus of proof was not placed upon the claimant and that the benefit of reasonable doubt was to accrue to the individual. Dharamvir also emphasised the requirement of the Medical Board to furnish reasons for its opinion and to consider direct as well as circumstantial evidence.<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Court observed that Dharamvir consequently became an authority on the principles governing presumption of attributability, causality and burden of proof in claims for disability pension. However, the Court noted that the present case was governed by the 2008 Rules, which had materially altered the presumptive framework and expressly recognised that manifestation of a disease during service does not, per se, establish attributability or aggravation. The Court therefore proceeded to examine the applicability of the principles laid down in Dharamvir in light of the changed statutory framework under the 2008 Rules.<\/p>\n<ul style=\"list-style-type: disc;\">\n<li>\n<p style=\"font-style: italic;\">Decisions subsequent to Dharamvir Singh<\/p>\n<\/li>\n<\/ul>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Court noted the grievance of the AG that certain tribunal orders had mechanically followed <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Dharamvir<\/span> without examining the governing Rules, the mode of cessation of service, the nature and aetiology of the disease, the medical opinion or the factual circumstances in which the principles in <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Dharamvir<\/span> arose. Referring to <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Laxmanram Poonia<\/span> v. <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Union of India<\/span>, <a href=\"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/DocumentLink.aspx?q=JTXT-0002568741\" target=\"_blank\">(2017) 4 SCC 697<\/a>, and <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Narsingh Yadav<\/span> v. <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Union of India<\/span>, <a href=\"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/DocumentLink.aspx?q=JTXT-9000312904\" target=\"_blank\">(2019) 9 SCC 667<\/a>, the Court observed that non-detection of a disease at the time of entry into service would not, by itself, conclude the question of service-led causation without considering the aetiology of the disease and other particulars of the individual case. The Court also reiterated, with reference to <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Rajumon T.M.<\/span> v. <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Union of India<\/span>, <a href=\"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/DocumentLink.aspx?q=JTXT-9002665189\" target=\"_blank\">2025 SCC OnLine SC 1064<\/a>, that a serviceman cannot be denied disability pension on the basis of an unreasoned Medical Board report, as such a decision would be unsustainable in law.<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Court further observed that, post-<span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Dharamvir<\/span>, the legal landscape largely consisted of decisions following its dictum, including <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Union of India<\/span> v. <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Rajbir Singh<\/span>, <a href=\"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/DocumentLink.aspx?q=JTXT-0000050572\" target=\"_blank\">(2015) 12 SCC 264<\/a>, <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Union of India<\/span> v. <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Manjeet Singh<\/span>, <a href=\"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/DocumentLink.aspx?q=JTXT-0000050573\" target=\"_blank\">(2015) 12 SCC 275<\/a>, <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Union of India<\/span> v. <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Angad Singh Titaria<\/span>, <a href=\"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/DocumentLink.aspx?q=JTXT-0000050571\" target=\"_blank\">(2015) 12 SCC 257<\/a>, and <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Bijender Singh<\/span> v. <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Union of India<\/span>, <a href=\"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/DocumentLink.aspx?q=JTXT-9002639046\" target=\"_blank\">2025 SCC OnLine SC 895<\/a>. These decisions reiterated the principles of presumption, onus and the requirement of reasons by the Medical Board under the 1982 Rules. However, the Court noted that the post-2013 jurisprudence had rarely applied the 2008 Rules, while several High Courts, relying upon decisions in <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Col. Balbir Singh<\/span> v. <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Union of India<\/span>, <a href=\"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/DocumentLink.aspx?q=JTXT-9002970718\" target=\"_blank\">2025 SCC OnLine Del 7873<\/a>, and <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Union of India<\/span> v. <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Bhaskaran N.<\/span>, <a href=\"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/DocumentLink.aspx?q=JTXT-9002405062\" target=\"_blank\">2024 SCC OnLine Ker 7023<\/a> had treated the 2008 Rules as being more in form than in substance and held that any alteration in the method of determination of the beneficial provisions under the 1982 Rules would amount to an impermissible alteration of service conditions to the disadvantage of personnel.<\/p>\n<ul style=\"list-style-type: disc;\">\n<li>\n<p style=\"font-style: italic;\">Recapitulation of Relevant High Court Orders<\/p>\n<\/li>\n<\/ul>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Court noted that several High Court decisions continued to apply Dharamvir and the presumption under the 1982 Rules, without applying the changed test of causal connection under the 2008 Rules. Referring to Gawas Anil Madso, the Court observed that the 2008 Rules removed the earlier presumption and that mere manifestation of a disease during service does not, per se, establish attributability. It also noted, relying on <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Union of India<\/span> v. <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">R. Munusamy<\/span>, <a href=\"http:\/\/www.scconline.com\/DocumentLink\/7i7vC9G9\" target=\"_blank\">2022 SCC OnLine SC 892<\/a>, that the Tribunal cannot sit in appeal over the expert opinion of a Medical Board in the absence of any demonstrated infirmity in its decision-making process.<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Court further referred to <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Col. Balbir Singh<\/span> and <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Bhaskaran N.<\/span>, noting that the latter clearly articulated the distinction between the 1982 and 2008 Rules. The 2008 Rules recognised that dormant, hereditary and congenital diseases may not be detected at recruitment, while the burden of proof continues to lie on the establishment where the claim is made within 15 years of retirement. The Court thus emphasised that disability pension claims must be examined in light of the altered statutory framework, the Medical Board&#8217;s opinion and the facts and circumstances of each case.<\/p>\n<p style=\"font-weight: bold;\">What is the true purport of the Entitlement Rules, 2008?<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Court identified the principal question as whether the 2008 Rules could be treated as having binding legal force in the absence of material demonstrating their valid promulgation. The Court observed that this issue had eluded scrutiny by the Court on more than one occasion and noted that the 2008 Rules trace their origin to the Pension Regulations.<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Court further referred to <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Union of India<\/span> v. <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Ex. Swr. Sanjay Kumar<\/span><a id=\"fnref1\" href=\"#fn1\" title=\"1. RA 36\/2014 with MA 701\/2014 in OA 239\/2013 dated 22-12-2015 at Armed Forces Tribunal, Principal Bench at New Delhi.\"><sup>1<\/sup><\/a>, where the Armed Forces Tribunal had raised a similar question regarding the existence of the 2008 Pension Regulations. The Union was unable to produce the requisite material. Even when called upon by this Court to produce an authentic copy of the Pension Regulations, the Union failed to do so, resulting in dismissal of the Union&#8217;s appeal. The Court, therefore, considered the question of valid promulgation and legal enforceability of the 2008 Rules as requiring examination.<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Court noted that while the 1982 Rules formed part of the established statutory and regulatory regime governing disability pension, the Union was unable to demonstrate the source, time and method by which the 2008 Rules were brought into force by repealing or superseding the 1982 Rules. The Court also took note of the Raksha Mantri Report, 2015, which had raised serious concerns regarding the legal sanctity of the 2008 Pension Regulations and Entitlement Rules.<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Court further examined the Allocation of Business Rules, 1961 and noted that the Department of Pension and Pensioners&#8217; Welfare was entrusted with formulation of policy relating to retirement benefits, whereas the Department of Ex-Servicemen Welfare was allocated only the administration of the specified Pension Regulations and the Entitlement Rules, 1982. In this backdrop, the Court observed that the Entitlement Rules, 2008 appeared to be a collation of modified executive instructions issued subsequent to the 1982 Rules. The Court emphasised that &#8220;transparency, clarity and certainty&#8221; are of enormous importance and held that the applicable rules and regulations governing pensionary benefits must be formulated and notified authoritatively by the competent authority.<\/p>\n<p style=\"font-weight: bold;\">Whether the Entitlement Rules, 2008 make a significant departure from the Entitlement Rules, 1982?<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Court, upon a comparative analysis of the Entitlement Rules, 1982 and 2008, observed that the 2008 Rules removed the automatic presumption of attributability at entry and introduced a requirement of causal connection. However, the Court found that the core scheme remained substantially intact. Rule 6 of the 2008 Rules broadly corresponds to Rule 8 of the 1982 Rules on causal connection, while Rule 7 continues to place the onus of proof on the employer, subject to the limited exception for claims made after 15 years. The provisions relating to aggravation and cases where the cause of disability is unknown also substantially carry forward the earlier scheme.<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Court accordingly held that the mere removal of the presumption under Rule 5 and addition of a causal requirement did not dismantle the claimant-protective structure of the Rules. The primary burden continues to lie on the establishment, with the principles of attributability, aggravation and reasonable benefit of doubt continuing to operate in favour of the service member. However, the Court clarified that the Rules are not identical in every particular, as the proviso to Rule 7 shifts the burden to the claimant where the claim is preferred after 15 years.<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">Thus, the Court concluded that, assuming the 2008 Rules have legal effect, they substantially reproduce the 1982 scheme, subject to the limited qualification under Rule 7. Where claims were allowed by mechanically applying the presumption in <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Dharamvir<\/span> without examining the evidence, particularly in cases falling beyond the 15-year period, such decisions may require revisiting, and the Union may raise appropriate objections to demonstrate whether the burden has been discharged.<\/p>\n<p style=\"font-weight: bold;\">Decision<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Court noted that the Raksha Mantri Report 2015 had recommended immediate withdrawal of appeals of this nature pending against disabled soldiers, which recommendation had not been faithfully implemented. The Court further noted that out of around 271 civil appeals and special leave petitions, most were barred by limitation, and that the overwhelming majority of claims had been rejected at the appellate stages.<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">Having considered the matter in detail, the Court held that no case for interference in the present special leave petitions\/civil appeals was made out and accordingly dismissed them on the grounds of delay as well as on merits. The Court observed that the opinion of the Medical Board deserves due weight and ought not to be substituted by a Court merely because another view is possible. In pending matters, the Tribunal must scrutinise in detail the opinion and reasons expressed by the Medical Board before deciding the claims.<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">The Court further clarified that where a claimant approaches the relevant forum after a period of fifteen years, Rule 7 of the 2008 Rules applies and the burden shifts upon the applicant to prove the conditions of entitlement. With this clarification, the batch of matters was dismissed.<\/p>\n<p style=\"margin-bottom: 3%;\">[<span style=\"font-weight: bold; color: #632423;\"><span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Union of India<\/span> v. <span style=\"font-style: italic;\">Col. NC Isaac<\/span>, <a href=\"http:\/\/www.scconline.com\/DocumentLink\/j214CgP8\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">2026 SCC OnLine SC 1895<\/a>, decided on 15-9-2026<\/span>]<\/p>\n<\/div>\n<hr\/>\n<p style=\"margin-left: 18pt; text-indent: -18pt;\"><a id=\"fn1\" href=\"#fnref1\">1.<\/a> RA 36\/2014 with MA 701\/2014 in OA 239\/2013 dated 22-12-2015 at Armed Forces Tribunal, Principal Bench at New Delhi.<\/p>\n","protected":false},"excerpt":{"rendered":"<p style=\"font-style: italic;\">Supreme Court examined the legal effect of the Entitlement Rules 2008, their relationship with the 1982 Rules, the role of Medical Board opinions, and the shift in burden of proof after 15 years in disability pension claims.<\/p>\n","protected":false},"author":67541,"featured_media":396365,"comment_status":"open","ping_status":"open","sticky":false,"template":"","format":"standard","meta":{"footnotes":""},"categories":[3,9],"tags":[114861,114860,27374,114857,114856,61844,41195,30168,57325,114858,114859,5363],"class_list":["post-396361","post","type-post","status-publish","format-standard","has-post-thumbnail","hentry","category-casebriefs","category-supremecourt","tag-armed-forces-disability-pension","tag-attributability-and-aggravation","tag-disability-pension","tag-entitlement-rules-1982","tag-entitlement-rules-2008","tag-ex-servicemen","tag-indian-armed-forces","tag-justice-alok-aradhe","tag-justice-pamidighantam-sri-narasimha","tag-medical-board-disability-pension","tag-rule-7-entitlement-rules-2008","tag-supreme-court"],"yoast_head":"<!-- This site is optimized with the Yoast SEO Premium plugin v25.1 (Yoast SEO v28.2) - https:\/\/yoast.com\/product\/yoast-seo-premium-wordpress\/ -->\n<title>Disability Pension: SC on Entitlement Rules 2008 vs 1982 | SCC Times<\/title>\n<meta name=\"description\" content=\"Supreme Court holds Entitlement Rules 2008 largely retain the 1982 disability-pension scheme, but the burden shifts to ex-servicemen who claim after 15 years.\" \/>\n<meta name=\"robots\" content=\"index, follow, max-snippet:-1, max-image-preview:large, max-video-preview:-1\" \/>\n<link rel=\"canonical\" href=\"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/2026\/09\/16\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\/\" \/>\n<meta property=\"og:locale\" content=\"en_US\" \/>\n<meta property=\"og:type\" content=\"article\" \/>\n<meta property=\"og:title\" content=\"Supreme Court on Disability Pension: Entitlement Rules 2008 Substantially Retain 1982 Scheme; Burden Shifts to Ex-Servicemen After 15 Years\" \/>\n<meta property=\"og:description\" content=\"Supreme Court holds Entitlement Rules 2008 largely retain the 1982 disability-pension scheme, but the burden shifts to ex-servicemen who claim after 15 years.\" \/>\n<meta property=\"og:url\" content=\"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/2026\/09\/16\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\/\" \/>\n<meta property=\"og:site_name\" content=\"SCC Times\" \/>\n<meta property=\"article:publisher\" content=\"https:\/\/www.facebook.com\/scc.online\/\" \/>\n<meta property=\"article:published_time\" content=\"2026-09-16T11:00:56+00:00\" \/>\n<meta property=\"article:modified_time\" content=\"2026-09-17T11:20:05+00:00\" \/>\n<meta property=\"og:image\" content=\"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/wp-content\/uploads\/2026\/09\/Blog_16.3-8.jpg\" \/>\n\t<meta property=\"og:image:width\" content=\"886\" \/>\n\t<meta property=\"og:image:height\" content=\"590\" \/>\n\t<meta property=\"og:image:type\" content=\"image\/jpeg\" \/>\n<meta name=\"author\" content=\"Malika Bhola\" \/>\n<meta name=\"twitter:card\" content=\"summary_large_image\" \/>\n<meta name=\"twitter:title\" content=\"Supreme Court on Disability Pension: Entitlement Rules 2008 Substantially Retain 1982 Scheme; Burden Shifts to Ex-Servicemen After 15 Years\" \/>\n<meta name=\"twitter:label1\" content=\"Written by\" \/>\n\t<meta name=\"twitter:data1\" content=\"Malika Bhola\" \/>\n\t<meta name=\"twitter:label2\" content=\"Est. reading time\" \/>\n\t<meta name=\"twitter:data2\" content=\"11 minutes\" \/>\n<script type=\"application\/ld+json\" class=\"yoast-schema-graph\">{\"@context\":\"https:\\\/\\\/schema.org\",\"@graph\":[{\"@type\":\"NewsArticle\",\"@id\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/post\\\/2026\\\/09\\\/16\\\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\\\/#article\",\"isPartOf\":{\"@id\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/post\\\/2026\\\/09\\\/16\\\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\\\/\"},\"author\":{\"name\":\"Malika Bhola\",\"@id\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/#\\\/schema\\\/person\\\/45db260c9b47eac21ba4813c9a379af1\"},\"headline\":\"Supreme Court on Disability Pension: Entitlement Rules 2008 Substantially Retain 1982 Scheme; Burden Shifts to Ex-Servicemen After 15 Years\",\"datePublished\":\"2026-09-16T11:00:56+00:00\",\"dateModified\":\"2026-09-17T11:20:05+00:00\",\"mainEntityOfPage\":{\"@id\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/post\\\/2026\\\/09\\\/16\\\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\\\/\"},\"wordCount\":2316,\"commentCount\":0,\"image\":{\"@id\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/post\\\/2026\\\/09\\\/16\\\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\\\/#primaryimage\"},\"thumbnailUrl\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/wp-content\\\/uploads\\\/2026\\\/09\\\/Blog_16.3-8.webp\",\"keywords\":[\"Armed Forces disability pension\",\"attributability and aggravation\",\"disability pension\",\"Entitlement Rules 1982\",\"Entitlement Rules 2008\",\"ex-servicemen\",\"Indian Armed Forces\",\"Justice Alok Aradhe\",\"Justice Pamidighantam Sri Narasimha\",\"Medical Board disability pension\",\"Rule 7 Entitlement Rules 2008\",\"Supreme Court\"],\"articleSection\":[\"Case Briefs\",\"Supreme Court\"],\"inLanguage\":\"en-US\",\"potentialAction\":[{\"@type\":\"CommentAction\",\"name\":\"Comment\",\"target\":[\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/post\\\/2026\\\/09\\\/16\\\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\\\/#respond\"]}]},{\"@type\":\"WebPage\",\"@id\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/post\\\/2026\\\/09\\\/16\\\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\\\/\",\"url\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/post\\\/2026\\\/09\\\/16\\\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\\\/\",\"name\":\"Disability Pension: SC on Entitlement Rules 2008 vs 1982 | SCC Times\",\"isPartOf\":{\"@id\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/#website\"},\"primaryImageOfPage\":{\"@id\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/post\\\/2026\\\/09\\\/16\\\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\\\/#primaryimage\"},\"image\":{\"@id\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/post\\\/2026\\\/09\\\/16\\\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\\\/#primaryimage\"},\"thumbnailUrl\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/wp-content\\\/uploads\\\/2026\\\/09\\\/Blog_16.3-8.webp\",\"datePublished\":\"2026-09-16T11:00:56+00:00\",\"dateModified\":\"2026-09-17T11:20:05+00:00\",\"author\":{\"@id\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/#\\\/schema\\\/person\\\/45db260c9b47eac21ba4813c9a379af1\"},\"description\":\"Supreme Court holds Entitlement Rules 2008 largely retain the 1982 disability-pension scheme, but the burden shifts to ex-servicemen who claim after 15 years.\",\"breadcrumb\":{\"@id\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/post\\\/2026\\\/09\\\/16\\\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\\\/#breadcrumb\"},\"inLanguage\":\"en-US\",\"potentialAction\":[{\"@type\":\"ReadAction\",\"target\":[\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/post\\\/2026\\\/09\\\/16\\\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\\\/\"]}]},{\"@type\":\"ImageObject\",\"inLanguage\":\"en-US\",\"@id\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/post\\\/2026\\\/09\\\/16\\\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\\\/#primaryimage\",\"url\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/wp-content\\\/uploads\\\/2026\\\/09\\\/Blog_16.3-8.webp\",\"contentUrl\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/wp-content\\\/uploads\\\/2026\\\/09\\\/Blog_16.3-8.webp\",\"width\":886,\"height\":590,\"caption\":\"Disability Pension Entitlement Rules 2008\"},{\"@type\":\"BreadcrumbList\",\"@id\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/post\\\/2026\\\/09\\\/16\\\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\\\/#breadcrumb\",\"itemListElement\":[{\"@type\":\"ListItem\",\"position\":1,\"name\":\"Home\",\"item\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/\"},{\"@type\":\"ListItem\",\"position\":2,\"name\":\"Supreme Court on Disability Pension: Entitlement Rules 2008 Substantially Retain 1982 Scheme; Burden Shifts to Ex-Servicemen After 15 Years\"}]},{\"@type\":\"WebSite\",\"@id\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/#website\",\"url\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/\",\"name\":\"SCC Times\",\"description\":\"Bringing you the Best Analytical Legal News\",\"potentialAction\":[{\"@type\":\"SearchAction\",\"target\":{\"@type\":\"EntryPoint\",\"urlTemplate\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/?s={search_term_string}\"},\"query-input\":{\"@type\":\"PropertyValueSpecification\",\"valueRequired\":true,\"valueName\":\"search_term_string\"}}],\"inLanguage\":\"en-US\"},{\"@type\":\"Person\",\"@id\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/#\\\/schema\\\/person\\\/45db260c9b47eac21ba4813c9a379af1\",\"name\":\"Malika Bhola\",\"image\":{\"@type\":\"ImageObject\",\"inLanguage\":\"en-US\",\"@id\":\"https:\\\/\\\/secure.gravatar.com\\\/avatar\\\/4ad40b34c562bedc415034fbcc0dc38433e5ef0c1f736b1961a9ebb53b5a3a65?s=96&d=mm&r=g\",\"url\":\"https:\\\/\\\/secure.gravatar.com\\\/avatar\\\/4ad40b34c562bedc415034fbcc0dc38433e5ef0c1f736b1961a9ebb53b5a3a65?s=96&d=mm&r=g\",\"contentUrl\":\"https:\\\/\\\/secure.gravatar.com\\\/avatar\\\/4ad40b34c562bedc415034fbcc0dc38433e5ef0c1f736b1961a9ebb53b5a3a65?s=96&d=mm&r=g\",\"caption\":\"Malika Bhola\"},\"url\":\"https:\\\/\\\/www.scconline.com\\\/blog\\\/post\\\/author\\\/malika-bhola\\\/\"}]}<\/script>\n<!-- \/ Yoast SEO Premium plugin. -->","yoast_head_json":{"title":"Disability Pension: SC on Entitlement Rules 2008 vs 1982 | SCC Times","description":"Supreme Court holds Entitlement Rules 2008 largely retain the 1982 disability-pension scheme, but the burden shifts to ex-servicemen who claim after 15 years.","robots":{"index":"index","follow":"follow","max-snippet":"max-snippet:-1","max-image-preview":"max-image-preview:large","max-video-preview":"max-video-preview:-1"},"canonical":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/2026\/09\/16\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\/","og_locale":"en_US","og_type":"article","og_title":"Supreme Court on Disability Pension: Entitlement Rules 2008 Substantially Retain 1982 Scheme; Burden Shifts to Ex-Servicemen After 15 Years","og_description":"Supreme Court holds Entitlement Rules 2008 largely retain the 1982 disability-pension scheme, but the burden shifts to ex-servicemen who claim after 15 years.","og_url":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/2026\/09\/16\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\/","og_site_name":"SCC Times","article_publisher":"https:\/\/www.facebook.com\/scc.online\/","article_published_time":"2026-09-16T11:00:56+00:00","article_modified_time":"2026-09-17T11:20:05+00:00","og_image":[{"width":886,"height":590,"url":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/wp-content\/uploads\/2026\/09\/Blog_16.3-8.jpg","type":"image\/jpeg"}],"author":"Malika Bhola","twitter_card":"summary_large_image","twitter_title":"Supreme Court on Disability Pension: Entitlement Rules 2008 Substantially Retain 1982 Scheme; Burden Shifts to Ex-Servicemen After 15 Years","twitter_misc":{"Written by":"Malika Bhola","Est. reading time":"11 minutes"},"schema":{"@context":"https:\/\/schema.org","@graph":[{"@type":"NewsArticle","@id":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/2026\/09\/16\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\/#article","isPartOf":{"@id":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/2026\/09\/16\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\/"},"author":{"name":"Malika Bhola","@id":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/#\/schema\/person\/45db260c9b47eac21ba4813c9a379af1"},"headline":"Supreme Court on Disability Pension: Entitlement Rules 2008 Substantially Retain 1982 Scheme; Burden Shifts to Ex-Servicemen After 15 Years","datePublished":"2026-09-16T11:00:56+00:00","dateModified":"2026-09-17T11:20:05+00:00","mainEntityOfPage":{"@id":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/2026\/09\/16\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\/"},"wordCount":2316,"commentCount":0,"image":{"@id":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/2026\/09\/16\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\/#primaryimage"},"thumbnailUrl":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/wp-content\/uploads\/2026\/09\/Blog_16.3-8.webp","keywords":["Armed Forces disability pension","attributability and aggravation","disability pension","Entitlement Rules 1982","Entitlement Rules 2008","ex-servicemen","Indian Armed Forces","Justice Alok Aradhe","Justice Pamidighantam Sri Narasimha","Medical Board disability pension","Rule 7 Entitlement Rules 2008","Supreme Court"],"articleSection":["Case Briefs","Supreme Court"],"inLanguage":"en-US","potentialAction":[{"@type":"CommentAction","name":"Comment","target":["https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/2026\/09\/16\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\/#respond"]}]},{"@type":"WebPage","@id":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/2026\/09\/16\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\/","url":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/2026\/09\/16\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\/","name":"Disability Pension: SC on Entitlement Rules 2008 vs 1982 | SCC Times","isPartOf":{"@id":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/#website"},"primaryImageOfPage":{"@id":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/2026\/09\/16\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\/#primaryimage"},"image":{"@id":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/2026\/09\/16\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\/#primaryimage"},"thumbnailUrl":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/wp-content\/uploads\/2026\/09\/Blog_16.3-8.webp","datePublished":"2026-09-16T11:00:56+00:00","dateModified":"2026-09-17T11:20:05+00:00","author":{"@id":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/#\/schema\/person\/45db260c9b47eac21ba4813c9a379af1"},"description":"Supreme Court holds Entitlement Rules 2008 largely retain the 1982 disability-pension scheme, but the burden shifts to ex-servicemen who claim after 15 years.","breadcrumb":{"@id":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/2026\/09\/16\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\/#breadcrumb"},"inLanguage":"en-US","potentialAction":[{"@type":"ReadAction","target":["https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/2026\/09\/16\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\/"]}]},{"@type":"ImageObject","inLanguage":"en-US","@id":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/2026\/09\/16\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\/#primaryimage","url":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/wp-content\/uploads\/2026\/09\/Blog_16.3-8.webp","contentUrl":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/wp-content\/uploads\/2026\/09\/Blog_16.3-8.webp","width":886,"height":590,"caption":"Disability Pension Entitlement Rules 2008"},{"@type":"BreadcrumbList","@id":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/2026\/09\/16\/supreme-court-disability-pension-entitlement-rules-2008-1982\/#breadcrumb","itemListElement":[{"@type":"ListItem","position":1,"name":"Home","item":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/"},{"@type":"ListItem","position":2,"name":"Supreme Court on Disability Pension: Entitlement Rules 2008 Substantially Retain 1982 Scheme; Burden Shifts to Ex-Servicemen After 15 Years"}]},{"@type":"WebSite","@id":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/#website","url":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/","name":"SCC Times","description":"Bringing you the Best Analytical Legal News","potentialAction":[{"@type":"SearchAction","target":{"@type":"EntryPoint","urlTemplate":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/?s={search_term_string}"},"query-input":{"@type":"PropertyValueSpecification","valueRequired":true,"valueName":"search_term_string"}}],"inLanguage":"en-US"},{"@type":"Person","@id":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/#\/schema\/person\/45db260c9b47eac21ba4813c9a379af1","name":"Malika Bhola","image":{"@type":"ImageObject","inLanguage":"en-US","@id":"https:\/\/secure.gravatar.com\/avatar\/4ad40b34c562bedc415034fbcc0dc38433e5ef0c1f736b1961a9ebb53b5a3a65?s=96&d=mm&r=g","url":"https:\/\/secure.gravatar.com\/avatar\/4ad40b34c562bedc415034fbcc0dc38433e5ef0c1f736b1961a9ebb53b5a3a65?s=96&d=mm&r=g","contentUrl":"https:\/\/secure.gravatar.com\/avatar\/4ad40b34c562bedc415034fbcc0dc38433e5ef0c1f736b1961a9ebb53b5a3a65?s=96&d=mm&r=g","caption":"Malika Bhola"},"url":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/post\/author\/malika-bhola\/"}]}},"jetpack_featured_media_url":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/wp-content\/uploads\/2026\/09\/Blog_16.3-8.webp","_links":{"self":[{"href":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/posts\/396361","targetHints":{"allow":["GET"]}}],"collection":[{"href":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/posts"}],"about":[{"href":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/types\/post"}],"author":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/users\/67541"}],"replies":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/comments?post=396361"}],"version-history":[{"count":0,"href":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/posts\/396361\/revisions"}],"wp:featuredmedia":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/media\/396365"}],"wp:attachment":[{"href":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/media?parent=396361"}],"wp:term":[{"taxonomy":"category","embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/categories?post=396361"},{"taxonomy":"post_tag","embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/www.scconline.com\/blog\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/tags?post=396361"}],"curies":[{"name":"wp","href":"https:\/\/api.w.org\/{rel}","templated":true}]}}