Andhra Pradesh HC | Establishment of a new High Court at Amravati

As per the Presidential order passed on 26-12-2018 the State of Andhra Pradesh shall have a separate High Court, to function from Amravati (the new capital of the state), and the official notification for the same shall come into effect from 01-01-2019.

Both  the States of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana have been sharing the Hyderabad High Court (after the re-organisation on 02-06-2014), in accordance with Section 30 (a) of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014 (“Act”), which provided for the said sharing of the HC, until the formation of a new High Court for Andhra Pradesh.

The new High Court shall be constituted under Article 214 of the Constitution r/w Section 31 of the said Act, under which sub-section (1) of the said section provides for Andhra Pradesh to have a new High Court and the Hyderabad HC to be the High Court for Telangana. Furthermore, the principal seat for the new High Court shall be decided by the President in accordance with Section 31 (2).

Also, the appeal arising in the case of UOI v. T. Dhangopal was diposed of by the said Presidential order, wherein it was held that both the States should have separate High Courts.

With the creation of the new high court, the country now has 25 high courts.

  • Justice Chagari Praveen Kumar (senior-most judge of the Andhra Pradesh HC) has been appointed as the Acting CJ of the new High Court w.e.f. 01-01-2019.

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.